Weights, licences and all that jazz! (1 Viewer)

Feb 13, 2017
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
2007 N-B Arto 69 EGB
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi!

I am thinking of buying a Tribute t-736 motorhome and want to be able to lend this out to family members to use.

The maximum authorised weight on the 6 seat-belt option is 3650kg with an MRO of 3120kg.

My wife and I both have C1 licences that pre-date 1997 but some of our family members don’t. Would they be legally allowed to drive this motorhome provided that they manage the payload carefully so that the total weight does not exceed 3500kgs?

Many thanks for any help you can give,

Andy

Jan 2, 2015
Cumbria
Funster No
MH
Burstner Solano t725
Exp
since 2014
If it is plated at 3650 kg then it will fall into the PHGV (Private Heavy Goods Vehicle) category and as such any driver will have to hold a C1 licence. You may be able to downrate the weight (search for SV Tech , Uprating, Downrating on here ) but it will leave you very short on the payload, ie the things you want to add such as passengers, driver, water, clothes, food etc.

Upvote 0
Jul 29, 2013
Salisbury
Funster No
MH
Hymer B678DL A class
Exp
since 2011
With six seats your going to need as much payload as you can get as by the time you add any extras such as solar batteries water gas sat dish etc it will eat into payload so less for passengers

Upvote 0
D

Deleted member 29692

Deleted User
I was just thinking the same as Alan.

If you're going to be travelling with 6 people in it you're going to be pushing your luck at 3650, never mind down rating it.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

EX51SSS

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 18, 2015
North Manchester
Funster No
MH
Hymer Exsis A Class
Exp
since 2007
welcome animated smiley3.gif

Upvote 0
Jan 28, 2008
Dovercourt, Harwich, UK
Funster No
MH
Renalt burstner
Exp
7 years campers before that
& the other 5 people will reduce payload by another 375 kgs.