Web site display mode

Discussion in 'Website Help' started by Wildman, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Has the site display mode changed, it used to display correctly on 1024 x 768, now to get the full width on my screen I have to use 1280 x 1024, which results in text far too small to read on the laptop.
    So sticking with 1024 x 768 but have to keep scrolling across. I don't think its recent, or is it?
     
  2. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,856
    Likes Received:
    76,236
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    No, nothing has changed. You have probably advertantly zoomed using your browser. I've done it loads of times. Set it back to default and it should be OK:thumb:
     
  3. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    no not zoomed. Ah well another of lifes great mysteries
     
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,447
    Likes Received:
    25,133
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    One thing that does trigger it that is when someone posts an over-sized picture, then the scrolls bars appear on all posts in that thread.

    What is the native resolution of your laptop ? If you don't run at that you risk badly formed text.
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Also on 1024 x 768

    Fun home page is too wide , but threads display without sideways scrolling.
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,947
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Likewise.....1280 x 768.....home page (only) needs 1/2" sideways scroll but everything else is spot on.
     
  7. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    Just been on home page no problem for me:Wink:
     
  8. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    yup just the home page.
     
  9. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    no idea Brian, next time a native passes I'll ask him, hee hee. always noticed the oversized picture problem, the softyware should have a switch to default to standard width when a large pic is posted. But probably buried many layers deep and Jim not come acropss it yet.
     
  10. Mr Colpot

    Mr Colpot Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    West Sussex
    I too have the "wide" problem on the home page? I havent changed any settings on the Laptop. When I click on New Post it reverts to normal sizing.
     
  11. Mr Colpot

    Mr Colpot Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Also noticed my signature! (it says hardhat instead of the picture on my Laptop)
     

Share This Page