wattage and cooker

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by lawrie, Dec 29, 2010.

  1. lawrie

    lawrie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    We are looking to buy an [ame="http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B001LK8OTW/ref=asc_df_B001LK8OTW1628013?smid=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&tag=googlecouk06-21&linkCode=asn&creative=22206&creativeASIN=B001LK8OTW"]Itelllichef[/ame] for out vw california.

    It is 900w and I am not sure if that is ok for when we are on hook up.

    If anyone has used one would also appreciate any comments.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2010
  2. gozomike

    gozomike Funster Life Member Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    662
    Location:
    Warwickshire - sometimes - but not often
    Hi 900 watts / 240 volts = 3.75 amps which should be fine on almost all EHU's.:thumb:
     
  3. nomadic

    nomadic Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    174
    Location:
    Shropshire based
    Wattage & Cooker

    Hi Lawrie

    The link did not connect.

    All I can say is it will draw 3.92 amps at 900 watts, so it should be ok, it all depends on your additional electrical equipment.

    Hope this helps:thumb:


    Nomadic
     
  4. lawrie

    lawrie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh Dear,

    Cannot get link to work.

    It is a Morphy Richards Intellichef

    try link again!

    Thanks for the answers and the speed they came! :Smile:

    what is the usual wattage you can draw on hook up.

    I guess we would have lights and radio on

    cheers

    lawrie
     
  5. gozomike

    gozomike Funster Life Member Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    662
    Location:
    Warwickshire - sometimes - but not often
    Hi Most of the Hookups I have come across in the UK will supply 2,000 watts or more. In Europe it can be a lot less but you should be ok with the cooker + lights + radio, the problem could be if you try the Kettle or a heater on as well. The sites usually quote in Amps so 240 (or 230) volts * the amps they quote will give you the approx watts avalable.
     
  6. golly

    golly Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    1,988
    Location:
    Co Durham
    I keep a list of all the electrical items I take in the camper and how many Watts they run at ( Amps = Watts devided by Volts) ie 900w/230v = 3.91a. I make sure that the total Watts I am using at any one time dosn't exceed 3000 if on a 16 amp hook up or 2000 if on 10 amp hook up, that gives alittle bit of leeway. Don;t forget to take into account the fridge and charger.

    hope that helps John
     
  7. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    look at one first as at 4litre capacity it does not sound small so make sure you have room for it
     
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,890
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    5amp (usually foreign) = 1150watts
    10amp = 2300watts
    16amp = 3680watts

    dont forget to include the background items....charger, waterpump etc.
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,890
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    for the same priced you could buy a Remoska......will work on any hookup amperage..only 470watts.
    or for £20 more...a larger grand remoska...650watts


    Standard Remoska

    Grand Remoska
     
  10. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,890
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    its either the latest remoska or a 'clone'

    i like the extra 'leg' on the lid... the original remoska, with one 'leg' and handle, is a little unsteady when turned upside down on the worktop.
    the lid does get extremely hot and can melt plastic if it topples over...i know, our toaster has a hole in the side from the hot lid.
     
  12. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    it also has a temp control
     
  13. lawrie

    lawrie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I now have some grasp of wattage and amps :thumb:

    As to Remoska, We almost bought one as they are vey highly rated.

    Put off by the fact that loads of dishes need meat browning first and the remoska does not do that.

    Our van is a vw and tiny. Dd not really want to be frying inside.

    Unless anyone can suggest...
     
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,890
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    no browning needed with a remoska !

    our first dish was roast chicken (whole).
    crisp and golden skin and very moist meat.

    done pork and beef with the same results.
     
  15. lawrie

    lawrie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went by the remoska recipe book.

    If browning is not needed then that is good news :)
     
  16. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
Loading...

Share This Page