Water puddling on roof of coachbuilt (1 Viewer)

streetdaddy

Free Member
Mar 13, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
I'm a newbie
Now that it's started to rain more I'm noticing that a good amount of water gets caught on the roof of my motorhome. I've noticed when I drive out of my carpark that a LOT of water sluices from the roof, and I can also see it when looking down from my upstairs apartment. It's only maybe 0.5-1cm deep and covers the main middle section of the roof.

Is this something that I should be worried about leading to water ingress? I expected that the roof would be shaped to prevent water catchment, or maybe the roof has sunken in partially?

Thanks for any advice. :thumb:

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
it's normal :thumb:

when parked up/stored for an extended period try parking on a slight sideways slope..or even on levelling blocks to one side only...then the water will run off instead of pooling.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

May 7, 2011
Cornwall Gorran Haven
Funster No
MH
T Line 785
Exp
motorhoming since 1979
I have similar problem on my new autocruise starfire ,expect I will end up driving up on ramps at front end so water does'nt build up. V Bad design ( real pain in the a*** :Blush:)

Apr 27, 2008
Eastbourne East Sussex
Funster No
MH
Hymer low profile
Exp
Since 1972
Pretty common problem as most vans have a flat roof. Luckily where mine is parked has a slight slope so it runs off. As previously suggested use levelling blocks to 'unlevel' it

Star_gypsy

Free Member
Jun 15, 2011
Isle of Wight
Funster No
MH
C class
Exp
Since 1987