Waste tank level sensor

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by stevec, May 20, 2014.

  1. stevec

    stevec Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    204
    Location:
    Norwich
    My Sargent control panel has been registering an empty waste tank even though I know it isn't! I took out the sensor and it seems to only have a stub about 2cms long pivoting on the sensor body. Seems something is missing or dropped off. If I put this stub in line with the sensor body (simulating a full tank) the control panel says 100%. Does anyone know if replacements are available. The control panel will only register 0%, 50% or 100% so presumably a three position sensor. I appears to be a pivoting sensor so a bit like a ballcock in operation i.e a hinged float.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2014
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    never accurate and even less reliable.

    Not worth sorting out as it will go to pot again very soon.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. buckby

    buckby

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    nottinghamshire
    They only show empty or 100% don't know why says so in the autotrail manual
     
  4. Sunrise Explorer

    Sunrise Explorer Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Portsmouth area
    Mine is exactly the same. The supply tank indicator shows 0 - 25 - 50 etc. However the Sargent write up implies that the drain tank only shows 0 or 100% full !
     
  5. f6c

    f6c Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    734
    Location:
    gloucestershire
    Pappa John is spot on not worth the bother:Wink::Wink:
     
  6. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Just make sure your overflow isn't blocked :Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  7. stevec

    stevec Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    204
    Location:
    Norwich
    I see the EC200 control panel says 0%, 50% or 100%....but the 50% is optional. theres an input for that but it's not used. So maybe there is nothing missing and the 'float' part of the sensor got stuck. Guess I was expecting a 50% reading. I'll check this weekend. Just booked up a site locally. everywhere seems to be booked up...it must be bank holiday or something.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
    What !!!!! Again ????? It only seems like 2 weeks since the last one :Doh::Doh:
    :Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  9. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,222
    Likes Received:
    9,602
    Location:
    Dorset
    the sensors generally used in mh tanks, whether waste or fresh tend to be pretty crap. why nobody has produced a cheap diy kit using plastic petrol tank sensors is rather disappointing. it really cant be too hard and would be fairly accurate and reliable. no point to fitting what they currently do
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,042
    Likes Received:
    4,106
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    Mine has 5 sensors, they show 0 25 50 75 and 100. Allegedly! If you remove the tank and clean the sensors, they do for a week or so, then go back to showing full most of the time, and the alarm sounds.
    I disconnected the sensor wiring. Now I empty the waste tank everytime I fill up. Fresh water sensors work fine
    Allan
     
Loading...

Share This Page