WANTED - Freesat TV

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by jaykay, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. jaykay

    jaykay Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    I have a satellite dish and have just realised my TV wont fit onto my bracket because of the dvd bulge on the back.

    Has anyone got a freesat tv for sale or can recommend a low cost one?

    I was planning to get a freesat box, but might as well get a tv with it built in now?
     
  2. scouse272

    scouse272 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    golborne
    move the bracket
     
  3. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,658
    Likes Received:
    6,817
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Or, after carrying out all the relevant measurements of course ;) remove the bracket, mount a spacer (deep enough to accomodate the bulge on the back of the TV), then remount the bracket.
    This may require longer securing bolts.

    Good luck with it. (y)

    Jock.
     
  4. jaykay

    jaykay Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    The bracket isn't in the wrong place its the recess of the mounting position on the tv that means the mounting plate wont fit flat to the tv.
     
  5. jaykay

    jaykay Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    This may be an option although would be a bit of a bodge. Cheaper than a new tv though and I could then just get a freesat box.
    I will give it some thought!
     
  6. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,330
    Likes Received:
    7,584
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Any supermarket...
    If the mains plug is fitted direct into the TV then you can use a small inverter to power the TV.
    Some TV's do come with a seperate adaptor and so can be connected up to the 12v supply BUT check all that out first.. Otherwise maybe ebay etc...
     
  7. Al-Di

    Al-Di Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    3,047
    Location:
    prestwich
    do they do a TV with inbuilt FREESAT, thought it was FREEVIEW,??

    stand to be corrected as this could help us out,

    Alan,
     
  8. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,658
    Likes Received:
    6,817
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Yes Alan, you can get TVs with a built in satellite receiver and freeview. You just need a dish and an aerial. (y) I tried a Cello TV with built in satellite, but it wasn't as good a receiver as my old Technomate one, :( so I sent the TV back.

    Cheers,

    Jock.
     
  9. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,658
    Likes Received:
    6,817
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Thinking on, it wasn't Freesat, but it was a Free To Air (FTA) satellite receiver TV.

    Jock.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page