Wanted - anybody have a GPS UK/Eu maps please.

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by savantuk, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. savantuk

    savantuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Cumbria, Lake district UK
    My Garmin Nuvi was stolen a few weeks ago. I have a spare, a version 1 Tom Tom one, and I can't get a set of EU maps to download from disc. I think I'll keep it as a spare, but I need another Receiver complete with UK/EU maps.

    Does anybody have a GPS receiver with full UK/EU maps?? Not too expensive, but cash waiting for right model.

    Thanks.
     
  2. deepstar

    deepstar Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lancashire
    sat nav

    hi
    im in same boat have got a blaupunkt rome model sat nav with no maps
    will any sat nav map fit???
    help rgds deepstar
     
  3. savantuk

    savantuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Cumbria, Lake district UK
    As far as I'm aware, no. I think maps are brand specific - probably a function of the OS.

    Good luck,

    Doug
     
  4. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    have you tried fleabay for damaged with maps? eg item number 300328290635
     
  5. savantuk

    savantuk Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Cumbria, Lake district UK
    OK, panic over, I've been an bought a new Nuvi this morning:Smile:
     
  6. deepstar

    deepstar Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lancashire
    thanks doug
    i will have to keep looking
    rgds deepstar
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    i thought the tomtom maps were 'coded' to one specific machine once downloaded via a PC/laptop!

    otherwise you could just borrow a disc and tomtom loose out on map sales revenue.

    i remember trying to put speed camera POIs, loaded on my startup disc, on my daughters tomtom and it wouldnt allow it.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Figaro
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    252
  2. chaser
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    311
  3. Jill
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    209
  4. Baycott
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    1,099
  5. DSAW687
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    479

Share This Page