Waeco Inverter low output

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Kenny M, Mar 27, 2016.

  1. Kenny M

    Kenny M Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Spain
    My recently purchased Autotrail Arapaho has a Waeco ECW-012VS inverter and an ECL-102 charging current distributor.
    The output voltage only shows 188 volts when checked with a multi meter at the 230 volt output socket.
    The battery voltage seems fine at 12.7 volts (vehicle stationary).

    I want to purchase a Dometic roof air conditioning unit as the previous owner has removed the existing unit prior to sale, but first I need the inverter working correctly.

    Can anyone advise possible reasons why the inverter output voltage is low.

    Many thanks,

    Kenny M :dance2:
     
  2. TheCaller

    TheCaller Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    2,158
    Location:
    Lincs
    I don't want to try & teach my grandmother, but are you sure your battery bank is up to providing the power you will need to run it from the inverter rather than a site EHU? Air conditioners are notoriously power hungry.

    Can't help with the inverter problem, I'm afraid, other than to say that it just might be a problem with the multimeter. Have you checked what it reads on another known good 230v supply?
     
  3. mustaphapint

    mustaphapint Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Worcestershire and Brittany
    Have you checked your battery voltage at the connections to the inverter? Just to eliminate any bad connections between your battery and the inverter.
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,952
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Faulty inverter.
    The output voltage is pre determined at manufacture.
    The 12v low voltage cutoff is set at 10.5v under load and above that voltage will provide 240v (230v)
     
  5. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Dometic roof air conditioning unit will draw 166+ amps, so you will need a bank of 800amps+ of batteries (you can only use 400amps before they are down to 50%)to drive it from an inverter, which must be able to supply 3000watts pure sine wave. Then there is the cables between batteries and inverter which must be up to the standard to draw that amperage!

    Cheaper to pay site fees and use EHU................
     
  6. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,705
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ummm.. At 166 amps you would need to hook up to a small substation with 1" thick cables !!!
    Just been on the Dometic site and while I admit I never checked every model, most seem to have a current draw of about 4 to 5 amps
     
  7. Doctor Dave

    Doctor Dave Funster

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    482
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    I had a Waeco inverter (can't recall the model number) and it went into 'standby' mode when no call for 230 volt power. It may be that yours is in standby mode, when I believe it puts out a lower voltage until there is a call for power. I suggest you try it with a load - within its capabilities - before assuming it is faulty.


    HTH


    Dave


    EDIT I note you are a read only funster and have made you five free posts. You will need to subscribe before you can post again - well worth it though.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  8. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,436
    Likes Received:
    11,128
    Location:
    Kettering
    Does he perhaps mean 166A from the batteries?

    4-5A @ 230V is just over 1kW which would be 88-95A @ 12V. If it's a 2kW unit there's your 166A.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,705
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Proly.. But as John is a clever bugger I aint gonna cutr him ANY slack at all !!
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
  10. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    John (@Jaws), thanks for the "clever bugger":) bit...... I had this fitted:
    http://www.motorhomefun.co.uk/forum/threads/dometic-b2200-air-con.116529/
    I removed beginning of this year (still up for sale) because we mostly go without EHU and having tested it on an inverter can confirm it will eat the amps being a 2kW unit and not really suitable for running on batteries unless your mobile at the time and have a B2B fitted to keep up.
    Air Con is great, if you have pets or live in a country that has sun wall to wall all year.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,952
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    But only if its drawing its max 2kw.
    1kw will draw half that and 500w will be half of the 1kw draw.....plus any losses.

    But as the op needs to know why only 188volts rather than 230volts this is not the issue.
    7nput volts have no effect on output volts providing the input doesn't drop below the inverters low volt cutoff of 10.5volts....then there is no output.
    Still convinced the inverter is faulty.
     
  12. Kenny M

    Kenny M Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Spain
    Thanks for all the replies so far.

    "Doctor Dave", you're a genius. Plugged one of those cassette type coffee machines into the inverter and immediately got 235 volts reading on my multimeter!
    "Don Quixote", I'm interested in your Dometic 2200. I live near Albox, Andalusia. Please PM if the unit is still for sale.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,436
    Likes Received:
    11,128
    Location:
    Kettering
    I agree (y)
     
  14. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,873
    Likes Received:
    2,694
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    The meter is designed to measure pure sine wave RMS. The inverter output is nearer square wave. I haven't bothered to check whether that could explain the reading you get. Has anyone else put a meter on a similar inverter?
     
  15. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,555
    Likes Received:
    11,104
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    • Useful Useful x 1
  16. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
  18. Kenny M

    Kenny M Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Spain
    don Quixote - offer emailed
     
  19. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,500
    Likes Received:
    3,697
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    No email received sorry!
     
  20. Kenny M

    Kenny M Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Spain
    Replied again to your PM.The email address is something like "jim@ motorhomefun". Should I use a different address? Please PM if you have another email address.

    Regards
     
Loading...

Share This Page