Using mobile as a Sat Nav (1 Viewer)

Nov 23, 2011
durham
Funster No
MH
Lowline
Exp
since 2006
Just updated my old phone to the Microsoft Lumia 550. I realise it has it own maps but I downloaded a free app from Navmii. It says the only data used is on the map downloads and the sat nav function is free. At the moment i've only downloaded the UK and France maps to see how it performs. I did try it locally and it seemed to perform ok. In the vehicle section you can select RV and Lorry but no dimensions. I'm not that tech savvy ( age thing ) so has anyone had any experience of this app or is there any better ones I could use. Its just to be used as a backup to my Snooper. We are off to France on the 18th so will try it there. Thanks in advance.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
I believe, to use the truck/rv facility, you must buy the 'paid for' version.
The free version is somewhat restrictive.

I downloaded the free app, tried it out then deleted it.
Inbuilt google maps work just as well.

PP Bear

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 5, 2013
Kent, UK
Funster No
MH
Auto Trail Dakota SE
Exp
Use either the iPhone or iPad. Voice directions and great sat nav :)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Sep 25, 2009
south yorkshire
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
since 2004. Tugger 10 years on and off
I bought the full version only used in this country up to now.Had no problem with it.It seems do the job.I have a old Tom Tom which I keep as backup.you need to have the phone charging if you are going along way as it will soon flatten the battery.

?

Deleted User
Look at the Mapfactor Navigator also free what i think has a windows version. I feel its better/easier to use but the map storage in the phone is larger to try and move/run from your SD card if allowed in windows phones.

crabman

Free Member
Mar 31, 2016
Anglesey Wales
Funster No
MH
just looking
Exp