Using Internet when travelling through Scotland

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Borderland, Jan 14, 2015.

  1. Borderland

    Borderland Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    2,082
    Location:
    Borders
    I have seen a lot of comments on the forums about using wifi etc when touring around but I don't have a clue of what is needed and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction for the following requirement.
    I want to be able to use my laptop occasionally when touring around Scotland. It will only be for occasional use. What do I need.
    Do I try and link it to my phone
    Do I need an adaptor to fit to the laptop to receive signal
    Could I use a tablet instead of laptop and if so would it have to have any special features.
    Any help would be much appreciated
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Cal54

    Cal54 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    6,305
    Location:
    Lancaster
    I am a tech 'numpty' but all I use is Mi-Fi. Mine is on contract with 3 as it is the only system I use even when at home. Really easy to use and for occasional use you could have a PAYG sim.
    There has been a posting on hear recently about a MiFi unit available from Tescos for £18 on the Vodaphone network with 2/4 g data allowance.

    Somebody with the relevant knowledge will be along no doubt to supply the info you require, all I can say is that this simple system works fine for me on both the laptop and the tablet.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,567
    Likes Received:
    11,545
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    You need to check if you phone contract/plan has an allowance for data. If it is a smartphone and you can, say, access BBC News when outside your home wifi, then you can assume it does have a data connection, but you may have to go into the settings and enable it.

    Assuming you have a phone with a data connection and a reasonable monthly allowance, several hundred MB I would suggest then set the phone up as a mobile hotspot, which will be in the settings somewhere. It might be called tethering.

    You then just log into your phone using your laptop's wifi, ensuring you know what the password is, which again will be in the phone settings.

    I used O2 on a tour of part of Scotland last year and didn't have any problems but as anywhere there will be places where there is no signal, remote glens, close to the sea, campsites, those sort of places!

    If you have an Android phone I strongly suggest you turn off automatic updating of Apps. This can be done in the Play Store settings. If you don't you might find you phone spending all your monthly data allowance updating itself. Just do updates when you have a wifi connection.
     
  4. Borderland

    Borderland Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    2,082
    Location:
    Borders
    I have followed above advice and seem to be connected wirelessly from phone to laptop but get a notice saying no internet access.
    Any suggestions on what to do next.
     
  5. Chockswahay

    Chockswahay Funster

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    3,095
    Likes Received:
    4,767
    That would suggest you are out of range for 'data' :(
     
  6. Borderland

    Borderland Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    2,082
    Location:
    Borders
    Could well be the problem. I am currently with Tesco (O2) and there isn't any 3G coverage in area at the moment.
     
  7. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,567
    Likes Received:
    11,545
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Assuming you have an Android phone, select Wireless & Networks and look for then tap "More..." then tap on "Mobile networks" and ensure the box opposite "mobile data traffic" is checked.

    This is how I do it on my phone, but yours may differ a bit but enabling mobile data traffic is essential.

    I think you should still be able to enable and receive data traffic even without a 3G connection, but it will be slow at best.
     
  8. Borderland

    Borderland Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    2,082
    Location:
    Borders
    Thanks for replies. I think it is now all sorted except I don't have data coverage. I will check later when I am in a data receiving area.
     
  9. dippingatoe

    dippingatoe Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    1,211
    Location:
    Travelling in France
    I found Scotland a nightmare to get an internet connection using wifi. Here in the midlands it is much better with 4 g even available in many places. It was so bad in Scotland, Shetland, Orkney and Outer Hebrides that I had Satellite Internet fitted when I got back as travelling alone and not being able to walk far, with no signal on either of the phones and no internet either in many (if not most) places was just too worrying.

    I am with EE - phone on orange and another on tesco mobile
     
  10. sb8263

    sb8263 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    leeds
    we use mifi dongle with a 3 sim payg, £15 gives you 3G of usage and lasts us a month easily, we just get a top up token before we go on each trip,,,,,even works in france now too.....
     
  11. Peter A Forbes

    Peter A Forbes Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Rushden, Northants, UK
    We tend to be at shows during the year, so have to pick up WiFi as and where we can.

    We have a WiFi omnidirectional aerial which we have on a pole to get better range. It's output is to USB and we have had good results with it.

    The snag is that like phone coverage, you have to be within range of a broadcasting modem to use it.

    [​IMG]

    Peter
     
  12. Daveg

    Daveg Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    Perthshire
    Since Scotland covers about a third of the area of the UK with less than 10% of the population it is often pot luck with 3G coverage because there aren't that many masts. Not too bad in the central belt but very patchy in rural areas. It also varies according to provider. I can have no service with 3 when Hilary is getting Ok signal with Virgin. When I was with O2 I had an Internet free week in the west highlands.

    We travel with MiFi and an iBoost, more in hope than expectation.

    Dave
     
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,883
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Or you may not have enabled 'mobile data traffic' if its an android phone.
    its a sub menu in 'mobile networks'......
    this will use some of your phone plans data allowance.....or your credit if you are pay as you go.

    To use free wifi simply click wifi on your laptop and select a wifi site from the list.....if it has a padlock symbol you need a password, which you done have so choose one without the symbol.

    Apart from town areas i would think free wifi is going to be thin on the ground in Scotland so tethering to your phone may be more reliable....depending if you have a phone signal
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2015
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,883
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Beat me to it....i think all android phones use the same menu.
     
  15. Doobray

    Doobray Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Scotland
    The easiest way to tether to an android phone is to download foxfi it also hides that you are tethering and so easy to use no set up required
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page