USING A MOBILE PHONE IN FRANCE/EUROPE

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by wingman, Aug 3, 2014.

  1. wingman

    wingman Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    2,364
    Location:
    Romford, Essex
    Advice please on a few silly questions regarding using mobiles in France/Europe .....

    A few weeks ago, whilst in France, I tried calling a Taxi to no avail. Despite the numbers being kosher, each of the four numbers I tried were 'unobtainable'. In fact, every damn number was!

    Here's silly question 1: Was it because I had my data roaming switched off?

    2. Was it an incorrect code input?
    3. How many noughts do I knock off/add or just forget!

    I'm ok on calling back to UK (+44 and omit the first 0?) but get totally confused about calling a French number from within France or other European country.

    Could someone give me a few graphic examples of a number, with idiot guide to the code please?

    I'm on 3 mobile, so am aware of their feel at home package, so praps it would all work ok now that I can leave data roaming on?
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    I dont think you need any international dialling codes for numbers in the same country as you as your phone will register with the local equivilent to your own network.
    Vodafone = FSR etc

    Yes, you will need roaming turned on.
     
  3. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,070
    Likes Received:
    7,121
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Could they possibly have been premium rate numbers which you may have barred on your phone?
     
  4. Mattyjwr

    Mattyjwr Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    3,135
    Location:
    Beds
    Did you dial 0033 to start with and omit the leading zero for the number that you tried to call? That is what I need to do. I need to call use the international number when calling in France to a French number. As that is expensive, I am pleased to have a toggle Mobile sim card in my spare phone - it also gives me a local number in France which allows my friends to call me cheaply as well. (Strange name, "cheaply", I know).
     
  5. Jazzbow

    Jazzbow Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    West Scotland
    I think this is wrong if the sim is UK.
    You need to dial the country code that you are in, roaming does need to be on though
     
Loading...

Share This Page