Using a laptop whilst on 12volt. (1 Viewer)

edriver

Free Member
Oct 26, 2014
Spain
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a Newbie
Hi can anyone help me please. I have a laptop that I would like to use to watch dvds on until our new TV/DVD combi arrives. We're off to the UK from Spain over Christmas on our 1st trip in our MH and the battery on my laptop has just decided to fail. We are not using camp sites going up so can't get MHU (I think that's the right term, still learning!!). Can I use my laptop with just the 12 volt system in the MH?

GJH

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 20, 2007
Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
Funster No
MH
None, now sold
Exp
2006 to 2022
Yes. I've been using something similar to Broken Link Removed to keep various laptops charged over the years. Before buying check that there is a tip appropriate for your machine.

jollyrodger

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 1, 2012
Devon/Cornwall
Funster No
MH
'Obby
Exp
Since 1968'ish
Providing your laptop is 12v and you have the correct plug ,most I think fall into 18-19v and you will poss need a small inverter .though I'm sure the experts will be along soon .have a good trip

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
it depends on the voltage of your laptop battery, most are higher than 12v but you can get a DC/DC converter to do the job just make sure you get the right one for you laptop, try ebay. EHU (Electric hook up) is available at some aires, depending on the wattage of the laptop you may struggle with keeping the leisure battery charged unless you have a B2B charger. Solar next to usless at this time of year.

hilldweller

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 5, 2008
Macclesfield
Funster No
MH
Zilch Mk1
Exp
From Aug 2007
Two choices basically - a 12V laptop power supply as above.

Or an inverter that plugs into 12V and outputs 240V which you can then plug any 240 charger in. I suggest a 150W inverter.

Something like this...
Broken Link Removed