Usb tv

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by malheg, May 20, 2013.

  1. malheg

    malheg Funster

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    North Wales
    Just seen a ad. for a Instant internet USB for access to numerous TV channels advertised in the C&C magazine.
    At £19.95 it seems a bargain to get TV without a dish.
    Does anyone have experience of this device.
    www.windsorproducts.com/USB37

    Thanks
    Malc
     
  2. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,939
    Likes Received:
    13,998
    Location:
    UK
    Without an external antenna I would give it a 50/50 chance of working in most places that there is a campsite....
     
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    This is an internet device

    it does nothing you can't do with laptop and internet connection.. it may make it a bit easier..that's all . you still need a good wifi or 3g connection.

    free software that does the same job .. http://en.softonic.com/s/free-internet-tv-full-version-windows-7
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2013
  5. Gunner29

    Gunner29 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    612
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Me Too

    I was going to ask the same question and have the same ad in C&CC mag in front of me Seems too good to be true at £19.95 or is it just a gimmick
    Have tried "filmon" in Spain but a bit iffy at times
     
  6. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    just use filmon or iplayer
     
  7. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    3,421
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    Not sure Filmon gives access to UK TV when abroad anymore, they lost a court case recently.
    I tried it in Portugal 2 weeks ago and couldn't get any BBC or ITV channels but the internet connection wasn't brilliant.
     
  8. Deckard

    Deckard Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    472
    Location:
    Lancashire
    I havent used this one tbh, i did have another one that was 3 times the price - you get what you pay for. The supplied aerial sucks so you can only get TV from strong signals....if its pulling it across the net, then make sure you have a good source (at home isnt a problem....but then why do you need it at home?)

    I ditched the idea tbh, but if someone has found a good version, i might be tempted to try another :Smile:

    UPDATE:
    I have used Hauppage stuff a whgile ago that worked well...

    I was looking for it when i found this;
    USB TV

    Has some decent feedback,......

    you might need to do something about the supplied aerial - but theyre always crap :Doh:
     
  9. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    well im in luxembourg at the moment and watchin mission impos 2 so yes u can get it while abroad
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Just to clarify .. don't confuse this device with a usb TV tuner..

    This is not a tuner to receive terrestrial TV, it does not use an aerial, it is piece of software on a usb stick that uses your internet connection to find on line TV .. don't waste money on it.. as I previously posted there is plenty of free software that will do the same job..


    Not to be confused with USB TV tuners that receive terrestrial TV using an aerial, do not need or use the internet ... as shown in Deckard's link http://www.ebuyer.com/255033-pctv-systems-nano-stick-73e-dvb-t-usb-stick-22269
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  11. bernardfeay

    bernardfeay Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Bolton
    Slightly off topic but we have a TV at home with a usb drive. It allows us to record stuff on the telly and then put it onto the netbook. From there it connects up to the TV in the camper via HDMI cable.

    It works well for when the satellite is out of reach because of trees or distance from UK. Needless to say it is full of Jeremy Kyle and Dickinsons Real Deal but I don't let friends know about watching Jeremy.
     
  12. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
  13. Gosport Tim

    Gosport Tim Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Rugeley
    My best purchase recently is a media player from amazon, cost me about £25 and links to the TV via a HDMI lead and I plug my hard drive into it and play all the films you can down load from the internet. Have used it in the van and at home and Perfect for the cold German nights and the best bit of kit I have brought for a while.:thumb:
     
  14. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    im now at the docks in calais and filmon is still working so thats luxembourg and france both allow filmon
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    3,421
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    I'm in Southern Brittany and guess what ......... it works here as well :BigGrin:
    Please ignore my previous post :BigGrin:

    Only downside is I tried it on my orange data sim and it used around 2Mb/min
     
  16. Deg3y

    Deg3y Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Corton, Lowestoft
    Would be interested if anyone has used this, it does sound good if it works.:Smile:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Norfolk Red
    Replies:
    39
    Views:
    979
  2. Ian cable
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    472
  3. PaulB
    Replies:
    34
    Views:
    798
  4. Timcropp
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    226
  5. Fenman
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    644

Share This Page