Upgrade from Nikon D50?

Discussion in 'Cameras' started by Touchwood, Dec 11, 2012.

1. Touchwood

Touchwood Funster

I have just been offered a month's work, so to compensate me for coming out of retirement I'm wondering about upgrading my camera.

I've owned my Nikon D50 for a few years now, and get decent results with it. I'm a semi-serious amateur, and have long planned to do more photography in my retirement. Fairly obviously I'm looking to stay with Nikon to utilise my existing lenses, and I'm thinking a D-SLR is still the best choice - but which one? Budget will be around £500 - £600 for body only. Any recommendations?

2. hilldweller

hilldweller Funster Life Member

If you want a crappy answer, go to Demand 5 and look at this week's gadget show. Nikon/Sony/Something else on test.

Sony won but the Nikon had the best sensor and processor.

Personally I think the time has come where the "bridge" camera does all most people need in one easy to carry sealed unit. Let's face it they are all better than the kit the early masters used to stunning effect.

3. jhorsf

jhorsf Read Only Funster

You should get some good replies on here as we have some serious snappers as Funsters

4. JeanLuc

JeanLuc Funster

In my opinion, the best Nikon dealer in the country is Grays of Westminster
    http://www.graysofwestminster.co.uk/

If you look in their specials listing (it's in the equipment tab) you will see they are offering the D7000 body new, for £649 - an incredibly low price for the top of the amateur range.

Alternatively, they have 2nd hand pro/am-spec D300 / D300s in the range £600 - £850.

5. Munchie

Munchie Funster Life Member

I have the D300 and can highly reccomend it :thumb:

6. 656

656 Read Only Funster

I have a D300 but am changing up to a D800 in the New Year. Best body I have ever had, never let me down and great battery life. Go on, you know you want too!:thumb::thumb::thumb:

7. Philcott

Philcott Read Only Funster