Free Member
Jan 6, 2017
Maidstone
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
First of all I really don't know what I'm talking about here but I know what we want to do, so bear with me! We are looking to buy our first motorhome and one possibility that we've looked and liked is a 2009 Hymer Exsis-i 522. Given the age, it has only a radio/CD player but we'd really like to be able to listen to downloaded Spotify playlists from my phone. What would we need to do??

fraefreuchie

Free Member
Sep 24, 2014
United Kingdom
Funster No
MH
Hymer Starline 510
Exp
since 2014
My Hymer had a Pioneer radio cassette system. I simply swapped it for a new bluetooth enabled radio/mp3 player. the bonus is a usb port for charging your phone whilst listening to music via bluetooth. It is best to stick to the same brand because the block connector and aerial connection are the same. Slide it out. Slide the new one in. One of the very few jobs that was easier than I first thought. Have a look at: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-Pioneer-MVH-390BT-Bluetooth-Radio-MP3-USB-Aux-In-iPod-iPhone-Car-Stereo-1Din-/112202261895?hash=item1a1fc6a587:g:yDYAAOSw44BYI3Ou

Upvote 0
Jul 5, 2013
Tunbridge Wells, Tunbridge Wells, UK
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
Since 2013
Does your radio have bluetooth or a USB port? If so it should be easy to link your phone and the radio together, as long as the Bluetooth has a A2DP profile. If it has neither then buy a cheap standard DIN one that does and replace your existing one. If you get one with a CTP profile as well you will able to use it for hands free calls. See here for bluetooth profiles.

In order to post more than 5 posts you will need to subscribe here. You will find it is the best £15 you will spend.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

Zigisla

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 24, 2015
Gosport, Hants
Funster No
MH
Sunlight A72
Exp
Getting better month by month.