Free Member
Oct 26, 2014
Spain
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a Newbie
Any suggestions on the best way to keep rats out when parked up for several weeks please. I recently parked ours up for 6 weeks outside our home in Spain, we live out in the country and when I got in the other evening I was horrified to find rat droppings. No damage or anything eaten through thank goodness but what's the best way to keep them out? Poisen is out of the question, we have dogs and I don't want to kill them just want them away fromour lovely motor home! I am considering an electronic plug in rat deterrent. Any advice, suggestions, or personal experiences will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Apr 18, 2009
Englishman in Mid Wales
Funster No
MH
Hymer B584, A Class
Exp
Not long enough!
IMG_3401.JPG
yes(y) you could borrow my little dog she loves them

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

4maddogs

Free Member
Nov 16, 2010
North Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Low profilke
Exp
6 months
I had mice once. I foolisly left some rice and other dried foodstuff in the cupboard ( all in plastic boxes now!). Once in it was really hard to get rid of them despite clearing everything out and cleaning thoroughly.
I tried humane traps, electronic deterrents, anti-mouse sachets (lavendar based), but none worked. Then someone on another forum suggested thise sheets you put in tumbl dryers and it worked. They are pleasant to smell so I put a sheet in places where I thought they were coming in. I still do from time to time and will in the winter as the MH is warm and welcoming!

Oct 20, 2014
Hampshire
Funster No
MH
Adria Coral 680 SL
Exp
Since 2014
Do you have any idea where they are gaining access?
Try the electronic plugs it might work for you, ratty in our loft totally ignores ours. We are currently trying out raw sweet potato which is supposed to be poisonous to them.