"Unusual traffic from your computer network" HELP Please

Discussion in 'Computers' started by scotjimland, Feb 15, 2015.

  1. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I started to get this message from Google last night..

    "Unusual traffic from your computer network"

    and to continue browsing I had to enter a CAPTCHA.. which I did.. then it came back again.. and again.. each time I did a search.. up it came..

    I ran CCleaner to clean the browser, ran Malwarebytes , nothing detected..

    .. I shut down all the devices attached to the router and rebooted both router and PC .. all was well until today ..it's back ..

    Basically done all that is suggested.. on the Google Help page ..I have reported to Google
    https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/86640?hl=en-GB

    From my limited understanding it would appear there is a malicious script or software running causing this problem.. ?

    Has anyone else had this problem or throw light on a probable cause and or a solution.. ?

    It's driving me nuts :eek::eek:
     
  2. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    it's back..:mad:

    here is a screen shot

    Capture.PNG
     
  3. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,941
    Likes Received:
    14,016
    Location:
    UK
    What kind of connection are you on? It might be the previous user of your IP address was a Bad Actor and you are getting the splashback.

    Take a note of the IP address you are on now. switch off the router for 5 minutes switch it back on. If you get the same problem check the IP address again if it is different then you are definitely at fault.

    If the IP address doesn't change let me know.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,941
    Likes Received:
    14,016
    Location:
    UK
    ok, just thought I would check your IP and you are on BTinternet so you should get a fresh IP address on reboot.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    yes.. that's correct Karl.. thanks .. I switch off the router at night so a fresh IP each day..

    I may have it sussed..

    I have been switching off connected devices one at a time to try and eliminate the culprit, and it looks like it may be my daughter's iPhone... I've asked if she downloaded any games recently and she said ..yes.. so am having a look at her phone.. will get back ..cheers
     
  6. CWH

    CWH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,707
    Likes Received:
    10,217
    Location:
    under a wand'rin' star
    Sorry to butt in with a question of my own... And a really basic one at that...
    How do you find your IP address???​
    I'm sure I used to know this, but I don't now...
     
  7. bungy

    bungy Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    Welsh marches
    beat me to it...was going to suggest it was more than likely a mobile device!!
     
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    damn.. it's back.. and her phone is off:mad:

    Capture1.PNG
     
  9. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Only two devices connected.. my desktop and Jan's lappy.. which I am now looking at
     
  10. Robert Clark

    Robert Clark Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5,616
    Likes Received:
    9,834
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Have you been using a keyword ranking checking tool?
    Or any automated search tool?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. bungy

    bungy Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    Welsh marches
    contact you ISP and ask them to check whats they are seeing, they should be able to identify what it is that creating all the traffic

    Alternativley, review whats happening on the router - should be a traffic stats section somewhere in the menus
     
  12. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,252
    Likes Received:
    34,493
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Have a look at what is actually running/installed on your machine in Task Manager and Control Panel. You may have inadvertently downloaded something which needs deliberately uninstalling.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. bungy

    bungy Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    Welsh marches
    incase youve not been able to get at the google page...

    "Unusual traffic from your computer network"
    Why you received this message
    You may see "Our systems have detected unusual traffic from your computer network" if Google detects that a computer or phone on your network may be sending automated traffic to Google.

    Automated traffic includes:

    • Sending searches from a robot, computer program, automated service, or search scraper
    • Using software that sends searches to Google to see how a website or webpage ranks on Google
    What to do when you see this message
    The error page most likely shows a CAPTCHA (a squiggly word with a box below it). To continue using Google, type the squiggly word into the box. It's how we know you're a human, not a robot. After you type the CAPTCHA correctly, the message will go away and you can use Google again.

    If you keep seeing the CAPTCHA form, report the problem.

    Troubleshoot if you don’t see a CAPTCHA
    If you don't see a CAPTCHA, try these steps in order:

    1. Check for malware on your computer. Malware is malicious software that can be installed on your computer without your knowledge. Some malware can cause Google to show this message. Learn how to detect and remove malware.
    2. Contact your network administrator. If you share a Wi-Fi network with others, like at a school or business, another computer in your network may be sending automated searches to Google. Your network administrator or IT professional may be able to locate and stop the source of the automated traffic.
    3. Reset your modem or router. If you don’t have a network administrator, try resetting your modem or router to see if that fixes the issue.
    4. If the problem keeps happening, or you don’t share a network with others, contact us. We’ll follow up if we need more information, or if we have something to report back.
    Once the automated searches have stopped, you should be able to search normally on Google.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. wizzer59

    wizzer59 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,882
    Likes Received:
    2,685
    Location:
    Englishman in Mid Wales
    Why switch the router off Jim??
     
  15. Bartyfixedit

    Bartyfixedit Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    290
    Location:
    Maidstone Kent
    Go into Add/Remove programs and see if there is anything you don't recognise. If not sure, google the name of any program you are unsure about.
    Also look in your browser settings and look at extensions, same thing, google any you don't recognise.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. MikeD

    MikeD Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    1,759
    Location:
    London
    I am no expert but either search in google "what is my ip address" or


    Finding your computer's IP address

    You might need your computer's IP address if you set up an Internet connection, allow other people to connect to your computer, or need to troubleshoot network problems.

    1. Open Network and Sharing Center by clicking the Start button [​IMG], clicking Control Panel, clicking Network and Internet, and then clicking Network and Sharing Center.

    2. Under Connection, click View status.

    3. Click Details.

      Your computer's IP address appears in the Value column, next to "IPV4 IP Address."
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. bungy

    bungy Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    4,127
    Location:
    Welsh marches
    do you have a fixed IP address by any chance?
     
  18. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    no

    will look at this shortly

    done that

    because I'm a Jock.. :LOL:... just habit.. safety.. leave nothing switched on when going to bed

    tried that..

    no


    Will keep looking.. it's gone at the moment ..:whistle:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,579
    Likes Received:
    11,563
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Assuming you have windows you could fire up the resource monitor and check the tab for network. This should show which applications are accessing the network.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    thanks.. am looking at it now..
     
Loading...

Share This Page