Under sealing and damp precautions (1 Viewer)

atlantisbird

Free Member
Mar 26, 2012
Near Bridlington
Funster No
MH
New Bentley C Class
Exp
since 2012 in own van
:rain:
Here is a question for the professionals out there with a query from a complete novice ( we pick up our new Bentley Indigo next Thursday)::bigsmile:
We have read the problems some people who have had damp ingress and black spots on items in their vans due to not being used or left unused over winter or for extended periods.

Firstly: Is it a wise decision to have a new vehicle undersealed either DIY or professionally?
We also read that some companies are not very good is there a recommended body or company if it is a good idea.

Secondly: is there any device which will both give a flow of air combined with a dehumidifier which can be fed with a solar panel on the roof?

Third: Is it worth putting a solar panel on a new van from the off and what size or power is enough?

I know we will get some answers at our first Peterborough show and will find out the cost
but if someone can put a ball park figure on the above it will be helpful in budgeting.
With the comments hopefully returned here we can make a list of questions for the traders
we will meet and our fellow motorhomers in order to make the right decisions.
Thank you.
Ann & Harry
Atlantisbird

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
dehumidifiers work best in a warm, sealed environment.

ventilation will only allow more moist air in to replace the moisture removed by the dehumidifier.

best thing is warmth and ventilation in winter.

something like a small oil filled radiator or a 60w tube heater with a couple of windows open a crack.

remove all soft furnishings into your house and open all internal drawers/cupboards/lockers to allow air movement and stop the 'wood' swelling and jamming doors etc.