Ultrastore Rapid not heating up on Electric

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by themountaintiger, Mar 24, 2013.

  1. themountaintiger

    themountaintiger Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Hi can anyone help?

    Just refilled Truma Unltrastore and its not heating water up.. Is it mostly likely the fuse on the Ultrastore itself? Ive tried to get to fuse and although unscrewing the protective case I cant seem to get to it easily... thought Id check with you guys first to see your thoughts.

    Ive not tried using it with gas yet...


    ...
     
  2. jb0371

    jb0371 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    402
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Have turned on the main switch, in my autotrail you turn it on by using the control panel, but there is also another switch in the wardrobe
     
  3. themountaintiger

    themountaintiger Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Hi..im in swift sundance 630g... yes its on at the control panel..i dont have another switch except for main switches, which are on.. but all other electrics are lit up and working...

    thanks
     
  4. Daveo2006

    Daveo2006 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    986
    Location:
    kent
    Not sure if youve sorted it but they do have an overheat thermostat fitted.If it does show fault normally switching off for 10-15 mins then switching on resets it .Have you tried on both settings?

    I think the fuse in the heater itself is for the pcb, Have you checked the circuit breakers on 230v supply?Also have you ever used a cleaner ,descaled the unit ( not knowing how old it is of course ) as it could be scaled. Have you noticed the speed at which it takes to heat slowing at all?If so it could point toward the heating element.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2013
  5. FULL TIMER

    FULL TIMER Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    712
    Location:
    NORWICH
    If you are lucky you have turned it on with no water in the tank if this is so it will have tripped out just turn off at the mains and leave for 10 minutes and try again obviously making sure boiler tank is full first, if this doesn't work there should be a switched fused spur somewhere in the electrics maybe the fuse here has blown if not it will be the 240v element blown, as long as you can get to the boiler easy enough it is quite an easy diy job to replace it Item 8 in the blown up parts diagram in the link here http://www.leisurespares.co.uk/files/ultrastore_rapid_ge.pdf
     
  6. Daveo2006

    Daveo2006 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    986
    Location:
    kent
    Ive just been out to glance at mine but couldnt see an inline fuse ( heater under bench seat) I also noticed that the trip switch (rcd) for the water heater also serves the fridge and 12v battery charger so he would probably notice troubles with them also.It will be interesting to hear the conclusion and if he was ok on the gas.
     
  7. themountaintiger

    themountaintiger Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire

    Thanks for response Dave

    It did work perfectly before I drained it for winter... I've refilled.., but not worked at all since its been refilled. Its not had chance to overheat..

    I've not descaled it...its 5 years old now. It heated pretty quickly last time i used it.. When you say circuit breakers on the 230v supply, do you mean the fuses? I did check them and all seemed ok, but i was upside down trying to view them with a torch and mirror.
     
  8. Daveo2006

    Daveo2006 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    986
    Location:
    kent
    Hello,not fuses, circuit breakers on the main 230v unit.Are all switches in the up position?While power switched off try pulling them out and putting back in.Also have you tried heating on gas?
     
  9. themountaintiger

    themountaintiger Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Thanks for this

    I believe that I had refilled the tank...I had reconnected pipes..turned pump on, which then took some time to refill the tank. As I've just come back home and with freezing cold weather, ive dumped the water from it again. What seems to make sense to me, is to refill the tank, do another check on the fuses and try it again....

    Would it make any difference if I do turn off electrics at the mains before refilling, or before turning on at control panel?

    thanks
     
  10. themountaintiger

    themountaintiger Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Really appreciate your help here.

    Yes checked switches and all ok.. Think I will try turning switches off and back on again, double check fuses, and the fuse on the PCB. It could be that fuse, but i would probably have to break some fingers to change it..

    Im back out on Wednesday so will report back on what happens

    thanks for helping
     
  11. Daveo2006

    Daveo2006 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    986
    Location:
    kent
    You should turn off at control panel and leave for 10-15 mins and the overheat thermostat will reset if you havent already tried this.
     
  12. Daveo2006

    Daveo2006 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    986
    Location:
    kent
    Have you tried the gas side of the heater?
     
  13. themountaintiger

    themountaintiger Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Hi Dave

    See what you mean now.. I had checked that all switches were up, but hadnt tried pulling them out and back in.. I will try other recommendations on next outing and if no joy, i will try gas...

    Thanks again for your time..
     
  14. themountaintiger

    themountaintiger Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Yes tried this then.. if its just turning off at control panel, I did this and then turned back on 12 hrs later with no effect..

    thanks
     
  15. themountaintiger

    themountaintiger Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Quick update...

    I refilled with water... And tried again heating water via electric, but again wasnt working. I then tried using gas and its working ok on gas.. So hot water.

    What i will do next is unplug motorhome from mains, turn off at my internal mains box, turn back on, and see if that sorts it.
     
  16. FULL TIMER

    FULL TIMER Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    712
    Location:
    NORWICH
    If it doesn't work it is almost certainly the 240v element that is at fault, being a full timer I have had to change 3 or 4 over the last 7 years. easy enough job as long as you can get to the boiler easy enough
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Daveo2006

    Daveo2006 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    986
    Location:
    kent
    Easily tested with a multi meter.
     
  18. themountaintiger

    themountaintiger Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Thanks its sorted

    As reported last time it was working ok on gas. As recommended by Daveo2006 after another drain of boiler, i switched electrics off with master switch without electric being on hook up... I waited 15 mins and turned on again.. I thought i heard a click from boiler.. Cant quite remember if it was whilst all electric turned off at mains or a few minutes after turning mains back on.

    Back on site now, with hook up and retried water heater and its working again

    Thanks to all..
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page