uk tv channels for free in europe

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by geo glasgow, Apr 11, 2014.

  1. geo glasgow

    geo glasgow Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    Glasgow
    if you can get internet on site or from third party like mcdonalds or a dondgle here is a site that will sort u out southers europe without a dish for your uk tv..
    https://www.filmon.com/
     
  2. Millibobs

    Millibobs Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Sax Alicante area Spain
    Hola Geo just been using filmon app on my iPad at Marjal camping at Crevillente and as long as your prepared to redo every five or ten mins it's great.
    This site has quite a fast wifi so think if wifi not great then it could be worse.
    My sister in law who is travelling around Greece in her bus told me about it few days ago.
    Well done for posting this because I forgot to do.
    Cheers
    David (Millibobs):BigGrin:
     
  3. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,522
    Likes Received:
    25,644
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    Broadband Haggers...



    JJ :Cool:
     
  4. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    York
    This is a genuine problem facing sites in Spain and so for that reason we don't advise the purchase of WiFi booster solely for the provision of TV via the internet.

    The fact of the matter is watching video content is very data intensive - you're using the same amount of internet as many as 20 people browsing the web and so there has to be a fair way of regulating the use for everyone. I doubt campsites will employ any traffic shaping, so daily usage caps are likely to be the easiest option.

    I expect that we will start to see 'fair usage policies' in Spain of maybe 500Mb/day in order to ensure everyone gets the same level of service. Filmon is so compressed that you'd still get 1-2 hours of video content (so enough for Corrie if that's your poison! :RollEyes:) using that method.
     
  5. geo glasgow

    geo glasgow Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    Glasgow
    the answer is

    if u have an iphone with unlimited dat then set that as your router that being any wifi device n be used from that and thus show corination street and much more from anywhere in the world, cool.
    however make sure you are set up for the roming in that country so your bill dosnt hit you with hundreds of po:thumb:unds,
     
  6. rosalan

    rosalan Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    675
    Location:
    Beds
    Will this not be very expensive if I want to use a dongle?

    Alan
     
  7. geo glasgow

    geo glasgow Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    Glasgow
    ps i dont watch corrie just an example

    :Wink::Wink:
    however trying to set up a 3g roof dome antenna with unlocked 3g router with data card that works in dongle but as soon as i put in router and set up.. No internet connections?? any ideas... than:thumb:ks
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. SMB

    SMB Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    588
    Location:
    north shields
    tvcatchup is another internet tv website if you have a vpn, along with iplayers etc :Smile:
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2014
  9. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,702
    Likes Received:
    3,207
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Am I correct in that Filmon doesn't require a VPN ?
     
  10. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,193
    Likes Received:
    2,254
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Yes it will be VERY expensive, especially if you are roaming. I was using a EuropaSim in Spain, which has 500Mb per day allowance. That allowance was eaten up in in just over an hour using Filmon.
     
  11. geo glasgow

    geo glasgow Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    Glasgow
    vpn not required

    :Wink:
     
  12. SMB

    SMB Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    588
    Location:
    north shields
    sorry if i mislead anyone, filmon doesn't need a vpn.

    they are handy to have though for security and tv...well until they informed us of the bleeding heart virus, which has only been able to access certain vpns and the vast majority of the internet and its users for two years :Rofl1:

    not sure why i'm laughing...
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2014
  13. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    York
    There isn't such thing as unlimited data when it comes to roaming (yet) :(

    Three have its £5/day roaming does not include tethering and its meaning of 'Unlimited' is in fact 25Gb month for use on your handset only. This applies even of a Three 'feel like home' country.

    Euro Internet Pass T&C's

    Unlimited Data T&C's


    Sounds like you need to manually configure the APN settings from the SIM card in the web interface of the 3G router.

    www.apnchanger.org
     
  14. geo glasgow

    geo glasgow Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    Glasgow
    If i send you sim card and router could you

    Appreciated
     
  15. peter marshall

    peter marshall

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Cleveleys,Lancashire
    We were at Marjal earlier this year we used the tv plug in on site only bbc1 &2 itv 1&2 &channel 5 but more than enough tv Pete:thumb: :thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. mariner

    mariner Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3,798
    Location:
    Isle of Dogs, but mostly Artola Spain.
    Been without BBC, ITV etc since it all went off, so started by looking around for another way of getting these channels.

    Eventualy I asked myself, do I really want to pay good money to watch the 75% rubbish these channels broadcast each day?

    The answer was an enfatic no!

    Don't miss them and probably won't watch them when I head back UK side, for a couple of months in the summer.

    Except of course for a few World Cup matches, if I have nothing better to do.



    :Cool:
     
  17. alanalmoff

    alanalmoff Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    March
    Sat tv

    I don't know to much about dongles or dangles, 4g,etc, but last year in South Spain, Portugal, I was getting more than 3000 channels from god knows what satellites, via my 85cm dish, among these were a couple of English news channels, are there any satellites that are broadcasting English Channels ??????
     
  18. mariner

    mariner Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3,798
    Location:
    Isle of Dogs, but mostly Artola Spain.
    Eutelsat and Astra at 28.2 approx. still broadcast loads of English channels.


    :Cool:
     
Loading...

Share This Page