UK TV abroad

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by tony_g, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. tony_g

    tony_g Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Nuneaton,some of the time
    Has anybody used an 'identity cloaker' so as to retain access to BBC iPlayer, 4od etc when outside the UK? I have been looking at VPNUK. Does anyone have any experience of this service?
    Don't want to miss the rest of 'Homeland' on Channel 4!
     
  2. geoff1947

    geoff1947 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Plymouth
    sorry

    Sorry What language are you speaking????:Doh:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    free to air satellite works way down to South of France

    I have free to air satellite and that works for me right down to the South of France


    Bob
     
  4. tony_g

    tony_g Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Nuneaton,some of the time
    Yes, but further afield or when UK satellite channels cannot be received or when you need to use a catch-up streamed on-line service to see a programme you missed, you need to prevent things like iPlayer identifying you has having a non-UK IP address. Of course, this also assumes access to a suitably fast w-fi source with adequate bandwidth.
    My present satellite equipment is only a Lidl special suitcase job and the dish is a bit on the small side. Plus, upgrading the dish/lnb wouldn't get around the on demand issue. :Smile::Smile::Smile:
     
  5. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    why do I need wifi?

    Why do I need wifi? the satellite picks up free to air stations.. no wifi needed.. works right down into Spain with no problem.

    I presume you want the wifi because of Iplayer... but for normal TV including channel 4 and 5 I get it OK on the NETA satellite system (dome) on the roof. I also get all the BBC prigs.. that I would on Iplayer.


    Bob
     
  6. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,539
    Likes Received:
    25,658
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    I use a proxy server Hide IP NG...

    I pay for it... there are many, many "free" proxy servers but I have found all of them a waste of time with all their adverts and pop ups etc...

    With Hide IP NG I pay around $19 per year and I can be in the UK or the USA at the click of a button...

    JJ :Cool:

     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,539
    Likes Received:
    25,658
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    I hope I am not teaching a granny to suck eggs Bob but... :Blush:

    Watching Iplayer is very different to watching television... With the Iplayer you can watch TV live if you want but you also have the choice to watch most of the programmes when you want rather than when the scheduling people dictate...

    JJ :Cool:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,912
    Likes Received:
    13,941
    Location:
    UK
    I have a couple of servers based in the UK.
    I have a VPN I use when I want to cloak and that routes all traffic via the server.

    Do you guys think this might be a service I ought to look into offering?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. lesleyjean

    lesleyjean Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,150
    Likes Received:
    1,944
    Location:
    Devon
    Hi

    Grommet will any of these proxy servers work with an iPad, as when away I prefer to take iPad.

    Lesley
     
  10. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    yes JJ I know

    Yes JJ I know.. do have it on my Macbook Pro.. often watch a series or pick up what I missed.. programs do not just fall off over night.. they are there if you down load the series and you can pick them up later .. if you can get a fast down load it is easier than trying to watch live.

    Bob
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,865
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    yes
     
  12. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,539
    Likes Received:
    25,658
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    YES... rather give you the money than an US company...


    JJ :Cool:
     
  13. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,539
    Likes Received:
    25,658
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal

    Sorry Bob... :Blush:

    JJ :Cool:
     
  14. tony_g

    tony_g Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Nuneaton,some of the time
    [HI][/HI]
    Yes but not the day after you missed them.:BigGrin::BigGrin::BigGrin::BigGrin:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. tony_g

    tony_g Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Nuneaton,some of the time
    Thanks JJ, that's precisely what I'm on about. :thumb: VPNUK was a possibility I had found at £5.99 a month but $19pa sounds better! And, yes, Grommett, if you are offering a host service, bring it on. All that's needed now is fast broadband for next to nothing everywhere. I don't seem to be able to find a smiley icon for flocks of pink pigs flying by the window, though. :Sad::Sad::Sad:
     
  16. Scotties

    Scotties Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    164
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Er Lesley, why pay at all.

    You could try [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2WNrEBSUfBo[/ame]

    Easy and free ... especially on your ipad.:Smile:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,912
    Likes Received:
    13,941
    Location:
    UK
    That's the client software which is free. However you need something to put in the server configuration. That's generally the bit you pay for.

    Running a proxy or VPN tends to be expensive on bandwidth and can be a support overhead so free ones will tend to be loaded with adverts and cheap ones will be oversold.... No such thing as a free lunch on this type of stuff.

    I will be looking into this over the next few weeks to see if it is feesable to offer as a service at a price that makes sense for funsters. I won't be doing it as a general offering as it is not an area of my trade I want to get into in a big way.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  18. tony_g

    tony_g Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    187
    Location:
    Nuneaton,some of the time
    Sounds good, just make it Mac friendly please. :Smile:
     
  19. Momo

    Momo Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    Valencia City, Spain
  20. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,912
    Likes Received:
    13,941
    Location:
    UK
    it's free so I am guessing it will be adware and servers will be utilised to their maximum.
     
Loading...

Share This Page