Sep 24, 2011
Herault France
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi all,
We are struggling a little with the steering on our 1988 Renault Master as it does not have power steering. A friend has suggested that the front tyre pressures may be too low. He has suggested that increasing the tyre pressure to at least 50psi would make it easier to steer the van.

Any comments or feedback appreciated as regards a suitable pressure for this vehicle.

movan

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 2, 2009
Moving around
Funster No
MH
Burstner
Exp
since07
Hi Becky:thumb: Can't help with your particular vehicle, but I do know that the garage that does my MOT and puts air in my tyres for me, told me that my tyres need more than it states in the book..... so it could be the same for you. Joy

Snowbird

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 24, 2009
Liverpool.
Funster No
MH
Fifth wheel.
Exp
Since 11-05-2000
Try the fronts at 55psi. The rears at 60psi. Do not exceed the tyre manufacturers recommended pressure,it will be on the sidewall.
The new Master states 55 front and 61 rear but no mention of the older van.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
beckysharpe

beckysharpe

Free Member
Sep 24, 2011
Herault France
Funster No
MH
Van conversion
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi Snowbird,

We'll try your suggestion of 55psi on the fronts and 60 on the rear tyres.

I found a message on Google which suggested checking the figures on the side of the tyre which in our case says 'Max load 2340 lbs (1061Kg) at 65psi '. Then you take the total weight of van and load and divide this by four. In our case this is 3500kg divided by 4 = 875kg. Then you work out what this value is as a percentage of the max load allowed for the tyre (2340kg). In this case it is 875 divided by 1061 multiplied by 100 gives 82%
Then 82% of 65psi gives a recommended tyre pressure of 53psi. Simple.

This is close enough to your figure for us.

Thanks,

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668
Exp