TV sound to van radio

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Findlaters, Sep 17, 2013.

  1. Findlaters

    Findlaters Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Hi
    I think this may have been covered before but I can't find the thread. I would like to connect the TV sound output to the van radio input. My 2012 Fiat has a USB input socket, can this still be used for audio input?

    Thanks in advance
    Les
     
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,421
    Likes Received:
    25,078
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I don't think so - you want to be looking for MP3 or iPAD connection.
     
  3. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,325
    Likes Received:
    7,580
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Findlaters

    Findlaters Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    That's a pity. What is the USB socket actually for? I was hoping to hard wire it but if it can't be done then I'll give one of the transmitters a go. Thanks for the links.

    Les:Smile:
     
  5. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,209
    Likes Received:
    9,588
    Location:
    Dorset
    the usb socket is there to play mp3 files from a thumb drive, it doesnt generally work as an aux input. if your head unit does have aux in, either front or rear, you can wire the tv output to it. however an fm transmitter/modulator is the quickest and easiest way to do the job. be aware though that unless your headunit has been rewired, using it for extended periods with the engine off will flatten the starter battery. many power themselves down after 15 minutes to avoid this issue
     
  6. Findlaters

    Findlaters Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    The radio will stay on for 120mins. I think I'll try and find out if there is an input on the back of the unit, if I can get at it.
     
  7. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    most avtex tv have a built in fm transmitter you just tune the radio in
     
  8. Findlaters

    Findlaters Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    My TV is an Avtex, but unfortunately the new ones don't have the transmitter built into them:Sad:
     
Loading...

Share This Page