TV Signal strength / Aerial

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Bart, Jul 13, 2016.

  1. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    So i just took delivery of my new TV for the Motorhome :
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/112048339...e67a7186b22&bu=43144494918&cp=1&sojTags=bu=bu

    The Motorhome does NOT have a satellite system installed just the Roof aerial that you move up n down like a periscope :D and are able to tilt it via the small lever that runs up the middle.
    Anyway the aerial is then connected to the TV via a booster using an RF cable
    The digital channels are working 95% of the time but cutting in n out due to a bad signal.
    as far as i can see the TV does not have an Inbuilt signal strength meter.
    Can i buy a TV signal strength meter that you connect to the FR lead so i can tell the best way to direct the aerial ?
    something like this but where it has RF connections if you know what i mean.
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Signal-St...688972?hash=item41aaa3160c:g:aEcAAOSwcL5XNGiP
     
  2. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,543
    Likes Received:
    5,595
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Thats the one you need and get two F type to rf adapters I dont think there made with RF as standard
    HERE Might be wrong
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    @Geo , thanks i so just get a digital meter like the one i linked then use the adapers you linked ... Nice 1 , thanks.
     
  4. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,543
    Likes Received:
    5,595
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Its how mine works same meter too
     
  5. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    @ Geo sweet , hopefully it will be a good job :)
     
  6. RogerThat

    RogerThat Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    1999 Swift Sundance 590RL. North West, UK.
    That eBay listing says it comes with an F adaptor included (y)
     
  7. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ahh sweet just read that :)
     
  8. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    BTW in my Motorhome there is the following box which i thing is a splitter / adapter for the Aerial ?
    But can anyone tell me what the switch on the left is for which is says "LOW - NML"
     

    Attached Files:

  9. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,874
    Likes Received:
    2,696
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    It switches between NorMaL boost and LOW boost. LOW is used if the i/c signal is too strong or if you are receiving interference from a distant transmitter. In other words LOW is never needed:D.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2016
    • Useful Useful x 2
  10. Campercaillie

    Campercaillie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    2,127
    Location:
    Scottish Highlands
    Have you considered the "Antenna Aligner" app? Available for I-Pad (£2.29) which gives you a compass-type display, with a whole list of the various incoming TV signals with their relevant signal strength. Very simple to use, tells you the correct polarity, very sensitive - even to the weakest signals, and very effective.

    https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/antenna-aligner/id530277946?mt=8
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  11. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Never heard of it , thanks for the info , sounds like it will be REALLY useful (y)(y)

    Edit just seen its for apple , ill see if andriod has it or simular

    Thanks :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    @tonyidle Thanks for clearing that up for me :)
     
  13. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    3,956
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    @Bart
    I use UK Aerial Alignment, a free app on the Play Store.
    Works for me.
     
  14. Bart

    Bart Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    @Langtoftlad thanks got it installed now , looks like a good job ^^
     
  15. Cheyenne man

    Cheyenne man Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Immingham, n,e lincolnshire
    Just bought a status aerial 335, fitted it, can't pick up BBC, itv,etc . Any ideas why not,:)
     
  16. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,874
    Likes Received:
    2,696
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Poor connections / no power to amplifier / local transmitter failure / too far from transmitter? Omni aerials aren't too good anyway.
     
  17. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    I have a signal strength meter for a sat dish, anyone know if this will work for freeview?
     
  18. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,543
    Likes Received:
    5,595
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    The status 335 is the flying saucer type and has been considered useless for years and fit for frisbee use only
    Sorry to see the new units appear as bad:(
    You may have a faulty one as it appears they only ever made faulty ones :doh:
     
  19. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Nottingham
    I guess the only problem with the app would be that you need a phone signal of at least 3 or even 2g maybe. Having said that I've just downloaded it to give it a go!
     
  20. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Nottingham
    I found on a recent trip to Scotland that moving the aerial from the flat position to the vertical with the little winder very often produced much better results.
     
Loading...

Share This Page