tv Satellite help please

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Jon and Debs, Sep 3, 2015.

  1. Jon and Debs

    Jon and Debs

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Great Dunmow Essex
    We have a new moho with an Avtex tv and dealer supplied aerial, needless to say we struggle to get a good tv reception and I am considering a satellite set up. Possibly a portable one but can anyone advise the best route forward. We are looking to get UK tv in the UK and possibly abroad, France, Spain etc. Maybe free view etc? Do I need a dish and receiver etc? How would you get started please?

    Thanks in anticipation

    Jon
     
  2. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    1,882
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Looks like a good sat dome for sale on here not long posted for a good price
     
  3. Leftlegger

    Leftlegger Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    N.somerset
    cheapest way would be to get a better antenna for what you already have.I never struggle to get terrestial tv in the uk.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  4. Mikeco

    Mikeco Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    Market Rasen
    We have a Status 550 aerial for UK use and a Max view Crank up dish which will work in France but not Spain now.
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,088
    Likes Received:
    17,759
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    You won't get free view on a dish.
    You will get free to air (FTA) or freesat....both of which amount to the same thing really...depending which decoder you use.
    Yes, you do need a dish and decoder or a TV with built in sat decoder.

    I use a regular sky 50cm mini dish (same as on most houses) mounted on an old camera tripod and an £80 FTA decoder.
     
  6. jaygee

    jaygee Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    739
    Location:
    Harwich, Essex
    we have a SNIPE satellite and it works fine with our avtex tv. We (hubby) did mount it on the roof but you can use it mobile it you don't want to mount it permanently. Bought it off ebay for around £550 much cheaper then other systems we looked at. Have to say not used it abroad as yet but others have. We use it with our sky box from home so can get all sports etc..
     
  7. Jon and Debs

    Jon and Debs

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Great Dunmow Essex
    Thanks to all for advice received so far. Much appreciated.
     
  8. teensvan99

    teensvan99 Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Margate
    Hi.

    We have had 2 vans and fitted the Max view crank up sat system about £500_550. Plus a cheap fortic star sat box about £55. This will work on any sat system around the world as long as you are in range. We found this works better than any automatic system especially where you are on the edge of the sat beam.

    Steve & Ann ............teensvan
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  9. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Location:
    Uk
    What Avtex TV have you got as some already have a Satellite receiver built in, then you would only need a dish of some sort, be it free standing or fixed to your Motorhome.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  10. Jon and Debs

    Jon and Debs

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Great Dunmow Essex
    Thanks all, getting a good range of ideas from you all. Much appreciated.
     
  11. Scattycat

    Scattycat Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    1,184
    Location:
    Mayenne, France
    We've had our Snipe picking up all the usual UK channels on Astra 28 as far south as just below Bordeaux
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  12. Jon and Debs

    Jon and Debs

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Great Dunmow Essex
    Great thanks seems the way to go. If you don't mount it permanently on the roof how does it stand alone , Does it have a stand or something?
     
  13. Nirvanauk

    Nirvanauk Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,421
    Likes Received:
    7,714
    Location:
    God's county. North Yorkshire.
    What type of aerial do you have that came with the van?
     
  14. Scattycat

    Scattycat Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    1,184
    Location:
    Mayenne, France
    The Snipe has a fairly heavy base so shouldn't be a problem as a stand alone unit.
    It's a bit of a lump though and takes up a lot of storage space. Our's is mounted on the roof, it saves a lot of phaffing around and is much more convenient
     
  15. nomadic

    nomadic Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Shropshire based
    And another vote here for SNIPE, and we can confirm its reception in France, as stated above.

    I understand, (but have not done so myself,) that in Spain, selecting another sat a limited number of programmes have English sub titles.
     
Loading...

Share This Page