tv power

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by niggle, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. niggle

    niggle Banned - Rule 1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    607
    Location:
    SOUTH AND FRANCE
    im looking for a way of only allowing 12 volt to the tv from the lesure batts amps dont matter as long as its above 80 ta :BigGrin:
     
  2. steles

    steles Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Kent
    More details required.
     
  3. laneside

    laneside Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    5,292
    Location:
    Oradour sur Vayres
    If you mean 80 amp then i think you need a rain check:cry::cry:
     
  4. steles

    steles Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Kent
    Lack of response guess you have sorted for yourself
     
  5. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi niggle,not sure what you mean but our tv is wired direct into the Ariel 12v socket :thumb::Wink:
    terry
     
  6. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    if I am reading your post correctly you want to limit the voltage to 12v rather than whatever the battery level is so you can protect the TV circuitry. That being the case you need a 12v Regulator, not 80 amps but probably 80Watts, Maplins sell one to suit. Go and discuss your requirements with them.
    If the above is not what you were looking for then please explain your requirements in a little extra detail. Personally I use a small (150W) inverter and run the TV on 240V, everything is protected then.
     
  7. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    see att
    terry
     

    Attached Files:

  8. niggle

    niggle Banned - Rule 1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    607
    Location:
    SOUTH AND FRANCE
    :Rofl1: sorry if i was a bit short on the post,,,,i have new pilot m/h,:BigGrin: but no lead for the tv,pilot put in the tv cubard put a 12 volt cigaret plug,but they are prone to power spike,so i need a regulator to stop this ?? the tv runs on 12 volt and takes 49 watts running and 0.7on stand by but the top end tollerance is 13 volts . :Rofl1::Rofl1: i got my watts and amps mixed up sorrry.i know muplins sell a kit but its got all kinds of stuff i dont need with it all i need is some thing to stop the power spiking above 12 volts nigel :thumb:
     
  9. haganap

    haganap Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    11,070
    Likes Received:
    13,681
    Location:
    Heavan
    so you want to rig a battery direct to the 12v tv? yeah? so the battery only runs the TV yeah?

    personally I would ignore the talk of a power spike and take my chance. Never had a problem in all my caravan/motorhome days of a TV being blown up by a power spike from 12v
     
  10. GuitarDave

    GuitarDave Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    The tv will regulate the voltage itself. All 12v tvs are designed to do this, I've been running mine in the van for 3years with no problems.:thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page