TV on the computer

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by oddjob, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. oddjob

    oddjob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveleys Nr Blackpool
  2. Neckender

    Neckender Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    Location:
    Stoke on Trent or Benidorm
    Thanks Oddjob, I've just downloaded this:thumb:.

    John.
     
  3. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    great-just d/loaded it and it works with Vista and Windows 7 :BigGrin:

    Mike.
     
  4. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    BUt would assume it uses IP geoblocking to stop you watcing UK channels outside the UK - so you will need some form of proxy / VPN to connect to UK channels from outside the UK.
     
  5. motorhomer

    motorhomer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    South Shropshire
    satanpcguy is right. I tried to use Zattoo from both France and Spain. In both cases it came up with a different screen from in England, lots of different channels but you had to pay for them (which I did not do).

    Does anyone know of a proxy you can use so that UK Zattoo works overseas?
     
  6. nomadic

    nomadic Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    174
    Location:
    Shropshire based
    Hi motorhomer

    I understand that if you subscribe to "onspeed" that will provide the virtual address for you, and all is well.

    www.onspeed.co.uk its as the title implies, a compression and speedup service, cost me around £12.00/year, but that was parhaps 9 years ago, bet its twice that price now.

    Hope this helps.

    Nomadic:thumb:
     
  7. johnsandywhite

    johnsandywhite Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Doncaster/Spain
    :Sad: Correct. Doesn't work even with OnSpeed in Spain. BUT, there are others. :thumb:
     
  8. johnsandywhite

    johnsandywhite Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Doncaster/Spain
    :Sad: NO. Doesn't work with OnSPeed (now £24,95 a year) In Spain. :Blush:
     
  9. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,518
    Likes Received:
    12,734
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Thanks Oddjob handy freebie for UK when in the trees with dish :thumb:
     
  10. johnp10

    johnp10 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,642
    Likes Received:
    14,214
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    Thanks, Oddjob.
    Just dowloaded it and it works great.
    John
     
  11. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,584
    Likes Received:
    9,971
    Location:
    E Yorks
    Okay, I may be being very thick here but I've just got a couple of questions:

    If you use this to watch TV on your PC does it mean you have to have a mobile broadband dongle and if so, does your TV watching use up your download allowance?
     
  12. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Mel short answer yes you have to be on the internet so if on a dongle yes it uses up your allowance:thumb:
     
  13. Minxy Girl

    Minxy Girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,584
    Likes Received:
    9,971
    Location:
    E Yorks
    Ta ... nice to see you on here (thought I'd escaped your attention ....:Wink:).
     
  14. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    NO way Mel as a fellow dog lover I know you must be an ok person hope your feeling better no more :boxing: and :soaobox: from me only:hug:if thats ok with you:BigGrin:
     
  15. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,248
    Likes Received:
    5,199
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    This works well on the BBC, click on letter for programme i.e. E for Eastenders, you have to fiddle to get a full screen, reduce/increase screen size, worked well for me last night.

    Peter

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes
     
  16. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Some of these "third party" catchup services have agreements in their contracts / agreemnts with UK broadcaster to block VPNs and proxy servers from using their systems. TVCatchup, for example block load of VPNs, so that they dont pee off the uK broadcasters. and doubtless zatoo will have a similar agreement so thatt hey are able to continue to show UK content inthe uk and UK only.
     
  17. Shore-is-Good

    Shore-is-Good Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Somewhere warm
    For my sins, I'm in the US of A at the mo. I use "Hide My Ass-Pro" (Google it) and it fools the TV gestapo that I'm in the UK so can watch all my favourite progs. You DO have to pay for it tho!
     
Loading...

Share This Page