LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Nov 4, 2014
Lee on the Solent
Funster No
MH
Hymer Mercedes MLI 580
Exp
I have been caravanning for 32 years but in 2014 I have"gone over to the dark side"
Been a few threads about TV in its various forms lately - dish setting up - terrestrial tv - streaming from tv etc. We have been caravanning/motorhoming for close on 40 years now and don't have a telly in the van (do at home)

We read a lot and have laptop in the van for internet (weather forecasts, planning next site, facebook etc. and of course Funsters Forum!! and truthfully do not miss tv even when we are away for a couple of months at a time.

Nothing against having a telly in the van (might even decide to have one some day :whistle:) do have to chuckle sometimes though when watching neighbours arrive and out comes the sat dish on legs and the next half hour or more is spent, usually by the man, making frequent minute adjustments!!

Just wondered if we are a just a bit Neanderthal or Dinosaur like :eek: by not having a TV - would be interested to know how many others travel without one :)

Oct 29, 2008
West Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
PVC
Exp
since 2008
You could get this to watch tv on your laptop or phone http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/tvman-pocket-mobile-tv-hotspot-a90nj
upload_2017-4-29_19-15-0.jpeg

We use it in our van and don't have a separate TV

Deleted User
In our 5'er, which is now static, there are 2 TV's ( one of them quite large) neither of which have been used this last season (October to May) in Portugal.

In our PVC which we use for excursions and travelling there is a TV in one of the cupboards, never got it to work anywhere with the crap aerial that is attached to it.

We do however download some TV (BBC only) onto iplayer for watching at our convenience on the laptop which fulfills our limited needs:)

OP
OP
Teuchter

Teuchter

LIFE MEMBER
Deceased RIP
Nov 4, 2014
Lee on the Solent
Funster No
MH
Hymer Mercedes MLI 580
Exp