TV black screen

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by sinbad1, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    Umm it looks like my 32" tv is caput:cry: picture suddenly went ;but sound ok, have checked all the connections and they seem fine. Since there is sound there all i can assume is the graphic side has gone. Any ideas before i bin it and does anyone know of any good deals.

    Regards

    nb just looking at some that say HD ready and others that say Full HD ?
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    i believe HD ready is some internal circuitry and a built-in socket for an HD receiver/converter.

    full HD is fully integrated in the TV.
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,478
    Likes Received:
    16,963
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
  4. Andy 01424

    Andy 01424 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hastings East Sussex
    my 26" phillips went on graphic side ,replacment part fault diagniosis and repair £80,depends really how much you liked it in the first place but scout around there a few good deals on tv's ,will say if you do find one ,type the model number in search engine you may get it cheaper
    :thumb:
     
  5. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    Thanks for your replies

    John did look at some argos ones the sharpe looks good value not sure how reliable they are , there was a bush @ £349 that was full HD they seem to be quite a good make in fact the first tele i can remember was a bush (black and white one)

    Andy Suppose i could get it repaired ;but then its like 2yr old now, like most things these days not built to last ( sure they programme the tv's to conk out after a period of time).

    Regards
     
  6. G4GMO

    G4GMO Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Only 2 years, should last longer than that, guarantees may only be 12 months but the responsibility for it doesn't stop there. Could be worth checking your rights and getting them to replace the faulty part, possibly the back light inverter. Would still cost you something though I expect but much cheaper than a new tv.
     
  7. Andy 01424

    Andy 01424 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hastings East Sussex


    only got it repaired as it had a DVI computer port which is rare:Wink:but nice tv to you could try these
    dabs.com - Televisions products at great prices from dabs.com


    Play.com (UK) - Electronics - Free Delivery - Television

    Or even Tesco or Asda do some good deals,tesco 3 weks ago were selling Panasonic 22" comp monitors for £105:Eeek: 5ms response time
     
  8. johng

    johng Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent/Sussex UK
    hi , could well be the backlight bulb.. screen will still be working but very hard to see much..

    may also be the inverter which generates the thousands of V needed to power the bulb,

    a relatively common problem with laptop screens I think

    J
     
  9. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,462
    Likes Received:
    25,158
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Get's my vote.

    A google will find loads of sites offering replacement inverters, trouble is, they are not cheap and it just might not be that.
     
  10. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,248
    Likes Received:
    5,199
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    You may find that unplugging from mains might unnscamble its brain, had a Philips that did that.

    If you want a new TV I own a TV wholesaler in Poole who delivers nationwide by TNT.

    Peter
     
  11. 6pm Cowboy

    6pm Cowboy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire
    A man with many hats !!! What happens when you need to wear two like now ??:BigGrin:
     
  12. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,248
    Likes Received:
    5,199
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288

    Been doing that for years! :cry:

    Peter
     
  13. peter marshall

    peter marshall

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Cleveleys,Lancashire
    Hi my sons telly as done the same, in repair shop could be the power input ??? i dont know what he ment but is mending it for £70 Pete
     
  14. davetthedon

    davetthedon Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malvern, Worcestershire
    FWIW my daughters tv, a mikomi (from Argos I think) did this last night. You could just see the picture if you squinted. On the remote there is a text button, a tv button and an av button. By pressing each one after the other, eventually it came on. It did flash on for a second or two when switched on for the first time though. and the text came on for a second or two as well. I assume it just needed a kick of power as it doesn't get used very often. Maybe your tv is the same, if its only used in the van. Its worth a go, even if i'm wrong! :Wink:
     
Loading...

Share This Page