Tv Aerial

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by Babyell, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. Babyell

    Babyell

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester
    we have this aerial...... 3123123.png

    and at weekend we parked up, got a good signal all seemed fine until we had to move van slightly to get some water. went and parked back in the exact same spot and no signal!?

    someone said in a previous post that these are rubbish....

    we drover around the field which was empty apart from us and we eventually got a signal. went out for a walk, came back and no signal again. this happened several times, intermittent signal. is there a better aerial or internal aerial that would improve this. we have the booster thing inside the van and that was turned to full.
     
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,428
    Likes Received:
    25,083
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    They are poor but if in a high signal area even a poor one is OK.

    Loose connection ? The co-ax connectors are notorious. Two types, soldered and screwed. Check all of them. Probably 3 of them.

    Screwed, make sure the screw is tight and the braid/screen contacts the outer body.

    Soldered, so many are not soldered and tarnish and fail, again unscrew examine, if not soldered bend the inner so it rubs inside the contact or solder. Again make sure the braid is in good contact with the body.

    Make sure the red LED is on on the amplifier box under the aerial.
     
  3. Babyell

    Babyell

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester
    1212.jpg this is the box inside. I checked all the connections and they seemed secure. it seemed when we shut the cupboard door or banged something the signal went off or glitch, could it be the wire?
     
  4. Babyell

    Babyell

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester
    also what is the spare short wire for?
     
  5. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,428
    Likes Received:
    25,083
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Try wriggling all the wires, inc power and localised tapping. It may be a cracked joint internally. Spare wire, maybe a bedroom feed ?
     
  6. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    991
    Location:
    Uk
    Could the short aerial wire go to an outside aerial point.
     
  7. namwaldog

    namwaldog Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    716
    Location:
    Cumbria
    On our amplifier box there is only room for one output connection but we have two output points so have to make sure that the output point we are using in the one that is connected, The one that isn't connected always has an upward curve like the short one in your image so (long shot), is the aerial point you are using the one that is connected?
     
  8. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,428
    Likes Received:
    25,083
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Buy a plug in splitter, should work.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. rosalan

    rosalan Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    680
    Location:
    Beds
    At a well known dealers we bought an aerial like yours and went back when it did not work. The next aerial was the same and after 5 units we got a signal, just. They decided it was our TV so tried an Avtex which worked. We gave up and parked on their camping ground and got a perfect picture. The next day we returned to the dealers and got a good signal where I parked this time. I since learned, as did the dealer, that they have a dead spot for signals but just a few feet away; perfect picture. I now have a satellite dish which opens a whole new can of worms.
     
  10. ambulancekidd

    ambulancekidd Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    1,305
    Location:
    Ayrshire Scotland
    Your aerial is massively outdated. I know that these aerials are still sold as being adequate for digital reception but the are omnidirectional & what you need is unidirectional. In other words you need an adjustable aerial like the newer Status items. Your problems are stemming from the old aerial.

    Hope this helps..Robert.
     
  11. Babyell

    Babyell

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester
    Thanks everyone. Can anyone put a link to a decent aerial. Also would it effect the roof changing aerial by leaving opened screw holes?
     
  12. Neilfg

    Neilfg Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    Bucks
    We use the Avtex STH3000, so far very good, better than our previous Vision Status.
     
  13. ambulancekidd

    ambulancekidd Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    1,305
    Location:
    Ayrshire Scotland
    Teleco Teleplus X2 /39U TV Aerial is the one I have currently. The last two Status aerials that I've had developed leaks & had to be replaced. This one picks up a signal where the Status failed so its a win win situation.

    Read the Teleco Teleplus Aerial Review

    Robert.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2015
  14. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    991
    Location:
    Uk
    We use the Avtex aerial and they work well. If you remove the Status aerial you already have you can buy a plate that uses the same holes to blank it of.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,892
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    [​IMG]

    upload_2015-7-16_18-6-36.jpeg

    No contest.....coathanger every time
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    1,688
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    We had the same aerial fitted to our PVC and even though it picked up decent signal most of the time there were areas where it picked nothing up at all, on our latest van we have a Status 550 and we tested it out today in a area where we normally got nothing with the previous one - the difference was about 130 channels, absolutley stunning for the sake of about £40
     
  17. Hymie

    Hymie Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    674
    Location:
    Essex
    Got both, replaced the broken status on the roof, that works well most of the time, and have the status on a pole as a backup, but don't enjoy rigging it up in the rain on a cold dark winters evening so it mainly stays tucked away,

    Went to drive out of Kelvedon Hatch C&CC site once with the pole version still attached, luckily it clipped a tree which knocked it off, as it is mounted on brackets attached by d/s tape only my pride suffered any lasting damage. :getmecoat: :rofl::rofl::rofl: :rofl:

    Hymie
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  18. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    5,569
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Status 550 as above Long Or Short mast A bit expensive but 100% reliable Never heard or read a bad word yet
    Apart from Yorkshire men and Scotts comments on price compared to Johns Coat hanger, but he's another story;)
     
  19. Tweedie

    Tweedie Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Northants
    Avtex STH3000 Aerial for us as well, excellent when used both inside and outside the van, does not need to be permanently fitted, very cost effective. Saving for a really good sat system at some time in the future till then the Avtex is really good for UK use. Will be interesting to see how it performs in France, suspect it will give us plenty of opportunity to practice our French. :)
     
  20. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,207
    Likes Received:
    2,286
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Status directional aerial for us too. Had on the last van and got one fitted by the dealer in my new van.
     
Loading...

Share This Page