Tv aerial hymer

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by beacons, May 5, 2014.

  1. beacons

    beacons Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    645
    Location:
    mid wales
    We have a hymer 564 1996 van is the status omnidirectional ariel able to pick up digital reception keep getting no signal on tv could this be a analogue ariel ?
    Please can anyone help
    many thanks jan
     
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,464
    Likes Received:
    25,158
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Yes it will work provided you are in a good signal area.

    All aerials are the same, "digital" is just to con you to buy new.
     
  3. BgClick

    BgClick Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    West Mids
    have you tried retuning since your last position?
     
  4. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,211
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Omnidirectional aerials will always get a weaker signal than a directional aerial pointed in the right direction. Digital TV either works or it doesn't, you don't get a bad picture like the old analogue transmissions would allow.
    I would expect an omnidirectional aerial would only work on rare occasions.

    As previously stated, there is no such thing as a digital aerial, just some aerials will produce a better signal than others, and omnidirectional will be the worst.
     
  5. beacons

    beacons Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    645
    Location:
    mid wales
    Tv hymer.

    Thanks for advice much appreciated
    many thanks jan.
     
  6. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,248
    Likes Received:
    5,199
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Make sure the amplifier has a 12v supply and is switched on

    Peter
     
Loading...

Share This Page