Turning up the volume

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Beachbum, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. Beachbum

    Beachbum Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hamburg / Cornwall
    I have a radio and single CD player. When I play the CD player, it works fine, but the moment I turn up the volume, it cuts out and goes back to radio. Any advice would be appreciated. :Sad:
     
  2. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Don't turn up the Volume.:RollEyes:

    You DID ask for it.:Rofl1:

    Is the voltage dropping to the unit when you turn it up?

    May be affecting the Radio Logic.

    Have you checked all the supply etc and earth?
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2008
  3. Beachbum

    Beachbum Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hamburg / Cornwall
    Okay Yankee, I asked for it :Rofl1:
    I haven't the faintest idea about currents or electronics. I will have it checked out when I go to Germany on Friday. The MH is still under gaurantee. Thanks any way buddy.
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    turn up the volume on the radio then switch to CD.

    might work. :RollEyes:
     
  5. G2EWS

    G2EWS Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Devizes
    Almost certainly being caused by a voltage drop. The CD carriage alone will take much more than the radio.

    Turning the volume up probably momentarily cuts the set off, which then comes back on in radio mode.

    Regards

    Chris
     
  6. Beachbum

    Beachbum Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hamburg / Cornwall
    Hi Chris, you hit the nail on the head, it is precisely what happens. What do I do to correct it. I am dumb as they come to Electronics, so please make it simple if I can correct it myself. Thanks buddy
     
  7. G2EWS

    G2EWS Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Devizes
    Hi Beachbum,

    There are a number of possible reasons.

    1. Cabling could be too small/think.
    2. Chances are the radio/cd was installed by a previous owner and picked up 12V from the wrong location.
    3. Fuse may have gone high resistance. Seen it happen many time over the years. Basically there should be a fuse in line. It is worth changing it.

    Those are the three main reasons. It would most certainly be worth pulling the unit out and checking the cable size and where the pick up was taken from.

    Let us know how you get on.

    Regards

    Chris
     
  8. G2EWS

    G2EWS Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Devizes
    Of course what I really meant was 'thin'.

    How the heck do you change something you have already written?

    Chris
     
  9. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,527
    Likes Received:
    5,584
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    You use the edit button Chris, but it has to be shortly after the post as its function disappears after a short time, see at the bottom of this post it will say eddited once and give a reason should i choose to enter one
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2008
  10. G2EWS

    G2EWS Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Devizes
    Hi Geo,

    On other forums the edit button stays there all the time. Is it a quirk of this forum's software or what the programmers for the site want I wonder?

    Oops, sorry, going off topic! We will get told off soon!

    Chris

    ooh I changed it!
     
  11. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,848
    Likes Received:
    76,162
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Presently you have 10 minutes after posting to change the title of the post and 30 minutes to change the text of the post. After that your words are set in stone. This is about 3 times as long as most forums:Smile:
     
  12. G2EWS

    G2EWS Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Devizes
    Hi Jim,

    I am a regular on 6 forums and have just checked. All of them allow alteration of posts at any time!

    Certainly not a complaint, just trying to understand why. I guess you are saying it is the way the site software works rather than something you have added?

    Regards

    Chris
     
  13. Beachbum

    Beachbum Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hamburg / Cornwall
    Thanks Chris, I knew you meant "THIN" No problem. Tried the CD this morning. If I put the volume up a couple of notches at a time leaving a few seconds before increasing I hit my volume target and everything is then fine. When the song comes to an end and goes to the next song, the volume drops back to it's original low position. It only switches to Radio mode if I raise the volume too high instantly.
     
  14. G2EWS

    G2EWS Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Devizes
    Hi Beachbum,

    Almost certainly one of the things I suggested.

    Have you had the chance to take the unit out and see what is behind?

    Regards

    Chris
     
Loading...

Share This Page