Turbo cuts out!!!!

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by mikkidee, Jun 9, 2012.

  1. mikkidee

    mikkidee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Malton,North Yorks
    Hi can anyone help please, I have motorhome on the 416 sprinter chassis 2.7 cdi turbo diesel 156bhp. While we were away the turbo seemed to cut out and the van was struggling to pull up hill.
    After we had parked up for half an hour I started the engine and the turbo was working again, I could tell because the van was pulling well and I could also hear the whistling sound at it went through the gears. I was a happy man.

    Then just before we arrived home this afternoon it cut out again, so I pulled into a layby turned the engine off for 15 seconds then on again and it worked:Angry:
    Does anyone have any idea what the problem could be? And is it going to lead to something major:Eeek:

    Thanks Mike.:Smile:

    Also when I turn the engine of,say at the petrol station, it sometimes won't start. Just keeps turning over, so I turn the ignition off then on and it starts. Anyone else had these problems
    Thanks Mike
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2012
  2. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
  3. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,140
    Likes Received:
    16,388
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Check the intercooler pipe is not damaged/loose or squashed.
     
  4. mikkidee

    mikkidee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Malton,North Yorks
    Thanks for the replies
    Jhorsf, I had look around the sprinter site thanks for the link, couldn't find anything about the problems I have but I will keep looking.

    Thanks for the tip snowbird but I haven't got a clue where to start looking for the inter cooler pipe. I'm totally not mechanically minded. Thought it would be worth a post on here. I don't trust garages, they have always ripped me of in the past, never found one I can trust yet:Sad:
    Mike
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2012
    • Like Like x 1
  6. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    We have Geo on here (Pecks hill Garage) see adds on right I do not know how far you live from Mansfield? He can be trusted for advice/ work
     
  7. mikkidee

    mikkidee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Malton,North Yorks
    Thanks for the link scotjimland, I'll have a look tomorrow.
    I've been trying to find a diagram of where the turbo is actually located but without fail, can someone help here? There's time to turn me into a mechanic yet:Rofl1::Rofl1:
    Thanks Mike:Smile:
     
  8. mikkidee

    mikkidee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Malton,North Yorks
    Thanks Jhorsf, it's 95 miles from me so a bit too far, maybe geo will be on here sometime for a bit of advice:BigGrin:

    Thanks Mike:Smile:
     
  9. up4it

    up4it Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Kent
    Hi Mike
    Best thing to do in this situation is to have the ECU read for fault codes,deisels after 2004 it should show pending fault codes. The ECU will put the engine into safe mode if it thinks something is wrong, turning the ignition of and on again will clear the fault untill it detects the fault again. My guess would be Air Mass that is in the air intake pipe next to air filter normaly.
    Best of luck Gus
     
  10. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    9,599
    Location:
    Dorset
    I agree this is not the turbo, its an ecu fault Have seen several cases of this with ecu remap chips fitted
     
  11. mikkidee

    mikkidee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Malton,North Yorks
    Thanks for the reply Gus, it sounds like that is the way I should go.
    Oh,and welcome to the forum
    Mike.:Smile:
     
  12. mikkidee

    mikkidee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Malton,North Yorks
    I haven't had a ecu remap chip fitted!!!!
    Mike.
     
  13. spannermanwigan

    spannermanwigan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    wigan, lancs
    you have a recurring fault ,your engine management system
    is going into what is called limp mode which allows you to drive
    on with reduced power,stopping the engine and restarting is
    clearing the fault,but it is then recurring.

    you need to have the fault codes read and the fault cured
    to eliminate your problem,
    regards
    steve
     
  14. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    9,599
    Location:
    Dorset
    sorry about that, the last part of my post seems to of disappeared. I was going on to say that this was caused by the sensors on the injector rail getting dirty and reporting a fault to the ecu. So its likely a sensor on yours either dirty or just starting to fail. This allows the fault to be temporarily cleared by switching off and on again

    another similar case was traced to a bad earth near the ecu

    first though, get the code/s read and look them up on the internet, as these will show what the fault actually triggered by
     
  15. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2012
  16. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
    it could be any of the multiple sensors giving a duff reading the only way to diagnose this is unfortunately get it plugged in but dont go to merc find a local independent merc speciallist.
     
  17. Loujess

    Loujess Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    3,168
    Location:
    Leeds UK
    We use Hunslet Light Commercial in Leeds, 01132 773050, and I think they are great. We broke down recently and they could have charged us big time but the bill was only £40 plus VAT. Very trustworthy. :BigGrin:

    Ivy
     
  18. jhorsf

    jhorsf Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,157
    Likes Received:
    8,067
    Location:
    DERBYSHIRE
    We have a local diesel injection specialist that nearly all the companies use round here you will have one in your area if you ask about
     
  19. TheDogMan

    TheDogMan Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Rugby UK
    My Sprinter van went into powerless/limp mode and after plugging it in we found it was the throttle sensor

    Dave
     
  20. Sundowners

    Sundowners Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Hi
    A bit old fashioned-----but----you could look at the fuel tank vent, and air filter (and check that air inlet pipe has not collapsed)
    Nigel & Pamala
    BTW---when you say it loses power, does it run in 'limp mode' or just a bit gutless ??
     
Loading...

Share This Page