turbo booster

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by davejen, May 18, 2009.

  1. davejen

    davejen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    688
    Location:
    Kirkpatrick Fleming Dumfries
    Hi all again, recently read a post where the poster said he had fitted a "turbo boost device" to his sprinter-based motorhome. I have tried pm-ing him but had no reply. Iwas wondering what he meant by this , any ideas anyone?
    Cheers, Dave:thumb:
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2009
  2. davejen

    davejen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    688
    Location:
    Kirkpatrick Fleming Dumfries
    Hi all again, recently read a post where the poster said he had fitted a "turbo boost device" to his sprinter-based motorhome. I have tried pm-ing him but had no reply. Iwas wondering what he meant by this , any ideas anyone?
    Cheers, Dave:thumb:
    ps sorry for duplication!
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2009
  3. 45eEver

    45eEver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    1
    Probably something like this Dave Jen.

    It alters the tune on your engine to suit the fuels we get in the UK.

    Manufs set the tuning (chip) to run anywhere in the world.

    The gadget improves the performance.
    And usually the MPG.
    If you don't use the extra performance too much.

    Very handy for an MH dragging a trailer up banks.

    You must inform your ins co though.

    You may invalidate your warrantee/guarantee if you fit one.
     
  4. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,546
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Unless he was skilled enough to fit an upgraded boost valve or adjust gate pressure I would suggest he was talking about a bolt on re mapping device ie alittle black box that fools the engine ecu into giving more performance "Chipping the engine"
    The bolt on box company has gone bust I think, and now there is only re mapping the original ECU as an option unless someone knows different:RollEyes:
    Geo
     
  5. 45eEver

    45eEver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    1
  6. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,546
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    The black box I was alluding to was made by a company called Van Aaken Tuning, the T5 box is not at all what is reqd by Motor homes and is only part of a package:Doh:
    Geo
     
  7. 45eEver

    45eEver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yup, your right Geo, that one's only part of the package, and it wouldn't suit an MH on it's own.

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2009
  8. 45eEver

    45eEver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    1
  9. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,546
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    A simplistic description is
    It works by preventing the standard release valve from operating at its factory pre set, this is the device the Boy racers fitt to give the dump valve a loud hiss when pressure is released
    it too, has no place on a motorhome:Sad:
     
  10. davejen

    davejen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    688
    Location:
    Kirkpatrick Fleming Dumfries
    Thanks for all thr replies folks- but the sprinter is a 1999- ain't got a ecu so can't be "chipped" sorry for confusion:Doh:
    Dave:thumb:
     
  11. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7,594
    Likes Received:
    3,853
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    on earlier vw lt (square shape) there is a manifold pressure senser this was adjustable and does make a difference. could play with it. if you turned it up too much it seemed to empty the sump of oil . through the breather,not good .
     
  12. 45eEver

    45eEver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    1
  13. davetthedon

    davetthedon Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malvern, Worcestershire
    Hi Geo
    What about this company Tunit Diesel Performance - Diesel Tuning With Over 2000 Applications I was thinking of having a go at fitting one. Do you not think this a good idea then?
    ATB
    DaveT
     
  14. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,475
    Likes Received:
    25,170
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    When in edit mode you have the ability to delete the message.
     
  15. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,546
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Hi Dave I have replied via pm
    For general info this unit i s similar to the Van Aaken but with more settings
    As an aside any one with warranty issues, should concider that even tho it can be unplugged and removed before any warranty inspection, the majority of ECUs have memory:Eek!: and if interigated by the manufacturer could show the history of the mapping that was used when the box was fitted:Doh: my advise would be to wait till your vehicle is out of warranty:thumb:
    Geo
     
  16. davejen

    davejen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    688
    Location:
    Kirkpatrick Fleming Dumfries
    Thanks Geo, but as you can see from my last post the van is well out of warranty. (Unless you have a secret code for renewing the warranty for TEN years)!:thanks2:
    Cheers, Dave:thumb:
    Sorry Geo thought you were replying to my post. D.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2009
  17. davejen

    davejen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    688
    Location:
    Kirkpatrick Fleming Dumfries
    Hi, 45 ever, mine is a 412 NON-CDI So I guess can't be done. The company above doesn't list the 412 model. Dave:thumb:
     
  18. 45eEver

    45eEver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    1
    As far as I've learned Dave Jen, the engine on the 312 and 412 are much the same.
    What rechips a 312 should rechip a 412.

    The guy who recommended them to me ran an early twin wheel Sprinter, which was probably a 412.

    I got a price from Crackley, but I never ran short of power.
    I ran over 2 ton lighter than he did though.

    I didn't do the miles, so the payback time from better MPG didn't justify the investment.
     
  19. davejen

    davejen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    688
    Location:
    Kirkpatrick Fleming Dumfries
    Hi, again, I am sure, because of the age it has mechanical injection so no ECU to remap. I will ring them tomorrow to check anyway & let you know
    Dave:thumb:
     
  20. davejen

    davejen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    688
    Location:
    Kirkpatrick Fleming Dumfries
    Hi, 45 Eever no the van is not CDI so can't be chipped. Thanks anyway
    regards, Dave:thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page