Tube light

Discussion in 'Hymer' started by Dave and Ginny, Feb 6, 2015.

  1. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Nottingham
    The 24" strip light above the sink and hob is on the way out I think. Mostly needs a tap now to get it on properly. It's a Sylvania Standard F18/129 -T8 warm white.

    Derek from stores at Brownhills was most helpful on the phone but quickest he could get one for was after we leave for Spain week of 23rd Feb. Anyone any idea where I might get one quicker?
     
  2. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,324
    Likes Received:
    7,579
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Why not replace with LED strip...
     
  3. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,865
    Likes Received:
    2,684
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Any electrical wholesale outlet? They aren't specific to MHs / caravans.
     
  4. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Nottingham
    I have changed all my bulbs I just didn't fancy the re-wiring I would need to do on the strip lights just yet

    I do not know of any wholesale outlets that supply 12volt lighting Tony?
     
  5. musson

    musson Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2013
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    grantham
    Hi try you tube it may show you how to fit the strip led,its not difficult they are marked at different lengths for cutting ,then you can solder your wires to the strip and take one through the switch thats fitted to the light.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    3,300
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    assuming you strip light is flourescent just rip all the interior out and use the two wires from the switch to join to the strips you do need to get them the right way round but no damage will occur if you get it wrong just reverse them
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Thanks both, I was given an old copy of MMM and it had a good article on doing the strip lights. I would do it, but with going away in a couple of weeks I didn't want to be doing it just now. The strip light will probably see me out for a couple of months, plus if it goes completely it won't matter too much in Spain :smiley:
     
  8. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,324
    Likes Received:
    7,579
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Simple way..
    Leave strip light in place but take out the tube.
    Find the 12v feed BEFORE it goes into the light fitting...
    Tap off here with some Crimp on joiners and use some LED strip lighting with sticky back.
    This way your wall switch will work the same, you have your old fitting there "just in case" and it's a simple job.

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LED-Light...Night_Lights_Fairy_Lights&hash=item339bb33ee5
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Cheers for the link. How many runs of the LED strip would I need to give the same 18watt that I get from the current tube.
     
  10. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,324
    Likes Received:
    7,579
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    There is a way to calculate but for the life of me I cant remember how to do it.
    These come in 5mtr length and you can cut to the size you want and go the whole length under a cupboard if you want OR even run 2 strips in parallel if needed.
    Many others on ebay, thats just to give an idea..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. The Wino

    The Wino Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    1,996
    Location:
    leicester
    The tube doesn't run at 12v that's why you can't just wire the leds to the fitting it runs at a high voltage supplied by the fitting and probably can be replaced by a standard tube. If you want the easiest fix (not led for the time being) take the old one to your local electrical wholesaler I bet they've got an equivalent in stock
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. trekkin

    trekkin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    495
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    These are generally the standard tubes, similar to the ones kitchen fitters use under the cupboards to illuminate work tops

    Try Wilko, b&q homebase etc, right length right pin out should be ok

    They work for us
     
  13. The Wino

    The Wino Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    1,996
    Location:
    leicester
  14. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Nottingham
    So your saying it's a fairly standard tube and the bit of circuitry in the housing steps up the voltage from 12v to enable a 240 volt light to work? I can't quite get my head around that o_O I have to say, this looks like it in Screwfix at £2.99?

    http://www.screwfix.com/p/sylvania-...8w/75145#product_additional_details_container
     
  15. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    991
    Location:
    Uk
    Yes they are just normal household tubes, don't need to go to motorhome dealer.
     
  16. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,486
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Well I never, £2.99 from Screwfix, works a treat. Thanks everyone!(y)

    The guy at Brownhills was very helpful, but they were going to order one in, from Hymer @ £19 !:eek:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. trekkin

    trekkin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    495
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    best £10 spent ever, spending it here
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    I got a replacement tube from a local lighting shop. The base / pin standard is G13 according to Osram.
    24" / 600 mm seems very long - I know the over-sink tube in my Hymer is shorter. If it is the 600 mm version, they are available in Homebase:
    http://www.homebase.co.uk/en/homebaseuk/tcp-tube-18w-600mm---1-pack-899678

    Also several 18W versions to choose from in B&Q. If you need a shorter version then the DIY sheds appear not to stock them and you may need to find a specialist shop as I did.

    By the way - I decided against stripping out the inverter in the light unit and fitting an LED strip; the fluorescent tubes use less than a halogen light anyway.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    5,197
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    We have those tubes in stock and they are the same ones used in my under cupboard kitchen units, Homebase seem expensive though.
    Screwfix very competetive !

    Peter
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,865
    Likes Received:
    2,684
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    .
     
Loading...

Share This Page