Truma gas fire continually sparks

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by swidy, Nov 4, 2015.

  1. swidy

    swidy Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    wakefield
    Hi there
    I have just completed all the checks on my moho before my trip to Spain and found that the TRUMA gas fire continues to spark even after the fire has lit, The fire works fine but continues to spark, I've stripped it down today and gave it a good clean, checked wires all looks ok,
    I am assuming something is not telling the ignitor that there is a flame, Any ideas please.
     
  2. The gasman

    The gasman Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Southampton
    Check the electrode possibly has a crack also make sure it is clean and in the flame when it is alight. Make sure the lead is not shorting out , if everything else is OK then it may need a new ignition generator

    Check the electrode possibly has a crack also make sure it is clean and in the flame when it is alight. Make sure the lead is not shorting out , if everything else is OK then it may need a new ignition generator.



    P. S I don't know this model of fire this is generic advice.
     
  3. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,971
    Likes Received:
    3,323
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    check all earth cables are good as flamerectifcation will do what you have described with a bad earth connection if need be run a wire to earth or use a jump lead to rule it out
     
  4. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,873
    Likes Received:
    2,694
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    There's nothing in this circuit other than the igniter. It uses the fact that the flame in the spark gap conducts electricity to sense flame/no flame.
     
  5. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,971
    Likes Received:
    3,323
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    After thermocouples were phased out some very early flame sensors worked that way but they were soon dropped as linking the electrodes could short out the circuit in a dangerous way in some cases spiders webs with carbon build up cause them to malfunction. most now use rectification still uses the flame, but linking them out results in failure i'm no electronics bod just a humble gas engineer so the way it works is beyond me but its some thing to do with the current changing from ac to dc or vice versa but i do know a bad earth can cause the fault described
    heres more on it hvac-talk.com/vbb/attachment.php?attachmentid=161412&d
     
  6. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,873
    Likes Received:
    2,694
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Interesting. I'd remembered rectification but Googled it to check & the answers made no mention of it. What you describe makes sense though as does an earth problem. I was really pointing out that no special sensors were involved - simply the igniter & its connections.
     
  7. swidy

    swidy Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    317
    Location:
    wakefield
    Thanks for your reply's not had chance to have another look yet maybe next week
     
Loading...

Share This Page