Truma C6 Combi with CP-Plus problems

Discussion in 'Heating and Air-Conditioning' started by Lenny HB, Apr 14, 2015.

  1. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    5,048
    Location:
    West Sussex
    I am hoping some of our trade members with access to Truma's technical department will be able to help.

    When using the CP-Plus in the timer mode it fails about 30-40% of the time & you wake up to a cold van & no hot water.
    When it fails the error is either E255H (no 12v to boiler) or E225H ( control lead fault) and occasionally E89H, when it fails there are no fault indications on the boiler LED's.
    Contacted Truma and they said you have a 12v wiring fault take it to one of our agents, I had Premier Motorhomes look at it they said nothing wrong with wiring or connections, this I already knew as I had checked everything myself.

    It appears to be a fairly common problem, my mates C6 in his Carthago is the same, search the web you will bring up the same problem on some caravan forums, search German Google you will find the same problem.

    As Truma don't seem to want to talk to end users about can any of our trade members shed some light and hopefully tell me Truma are working on a software/firmware update for the CP-Plus.

    And now to my second fault:

    When the hot water is set to 40deg it fails to maintain the temperature, so if one of us has a shower it's too cold for the next one, or if you leave it on all day after 2-3 hours the water will just be luke warm then a further hour it will be hot again, it appears to have a far too higher hysteresis in the control circuit or sensor, it works fine set to 60deg.
    When the van was at Premier they looked at this as well and the service guy said it's all working fine you shouldn't use it at 40, these new boilers are designed to only loose 1 deg per hour (how come mine looses about 10deg then!) this why they won't work at 40 (BS), when leaving the service manager said I hear you have been running your water at 40, nobody does that you have to run it at 60.

    Now the C6002 in my last van I always ran at 40 without any problems, running at 60 is a pain in the bum, not only will I use more gas but more importantly it's a right pain to set the shower to the right temperature and wastes more water setting it.

    Please tell me there is a fix for this.

    Obviously Premier are only going by Truma's guidelines and they are a very helpful dealer, my gripe is with Truma why don't they come clean and admit they have problems with the C6 & CP-Plus most unlike a German company.
     
  2. ALI G

    ALI G Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peterborough
    hi,
    Can only answer your first problem which we had .I rang truma tel no. 01283586050 and they told me to send the cp panel to them in Derby for an upgrade, we chose to go there with the van so this could be done while we waited took them about 5 minutes. something to do with the distance the signal has to travel from the panel to the boiler hope this helps
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    5,048
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Thanks, that sounds helpful was this fairly recent?
    Appears to depend who answers the phone to what response you get, I always get the wrong one.
     
  4. ALI G

    ALI G Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peterborough
    not really, about 5 months ago and very helpful and after 2 months winter touring no problems since
     
  5. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    5,048
    Location:
    West Sussex
    It was the beginning of this year I phoned them, like I said appears to depend on who answers the phone.
     
  6. gozomike

    gozomike Funster Life Member Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    662
    Location:
    Warwickshire - sometimes - but not often
    I had that fault with mine (smaller boiler but same control unit), it went back for reprogramming and appears to be OK since.
     
  7. ALI G

    ALI G Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peterborough
    You can check what version you have by scrolling to the spanner symbol
    Press the knob to get index
    Press again then you get C1.04.01
    Turn the knob and then you get H 5.00.00 on the screen
    After refitting ours the truma guy check checked the above to confirm we had the latest version.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2015
  8. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    5,048
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Thanks, just checked mine H5.00.00.
    It's the same as yours and appears to have got worse now fails 50% of the time.
     
  9. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    5,048
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Could you check the software version on yours please.
     
  10. gozomike

    gozomike Funster Life Member Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    662
    Location:
    Warwickshire - sometimes - but not often
    Mine shows C1.04.01 on the first menu and H5.02.00 on the second.

    When mine failed on the timer I was still able to turn it on by operating the controller manually.

    I am at the Peterborough show, if you are coming pop over & we can chat.

    Mike
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    5,048
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Thanks Mike just what I wanted to know I will give Truma a ring and see if I get get it upgraded. Mine only fails on the timer setting works OK otherwise , we use the timer a lot (when it works) so we don't have to wait about in the morning for a shower.

    Won't be at the show we don't bother with UK shows.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    5,048
    Location:
    West Sussex
    I rang Truma on Monday posted it to them on Tuesday and received it back on Saturday. So far I've set the timer 8 times worked every time, well pleased.
    The C1.04.01 & H5.00.00 don't appear to be relevant to the software mine still shows the same after the upgrade.

    Just need someone to come up with a solution to the problem of the hot water when set to 40 deg, help please anyone?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. gozomike

    gozomike Funster Life Member Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    662
    Location:
    Warwickshire - sometimes - but not often
    Good to hear they have fixed the timer problem. I normally set my hot water to 40c but only have it set for an hour in the morning so the water is hot enough for a shower when I fall out of bed. That has been fine on gas but it does take a long while to warm up on the odd occasion I have had an EHU and have switched to elec. But that is only for 1 shower and I do not use it during the day so not much help.
     
  14. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    5,048
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Ours is gas only, problem is because the boiler does not cut back in the boss gets a cold shower & I get it in the ear.:)
     
  15. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    5,048
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Finaly got around to contacting Truma about the hot water setting, apparently when set to 40 deg the thermostat does not turn back on until the water temperature drops to 27 deg basically when the water is luke warm.
    The words "not fit for purpose" comes mind, anyway I've back to them pointing this out ans asking if there is a fix, not expecting to get much of a response.
     
  16. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,044
    Likes Received:
    4,112
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    We only use our hot water at 60 degrees. There is a page in the manual that recommends this. Heating the water to 60 once a day will kill pathogens and bugs in the boiler so you don't shower in them. ( apparently, it heats the water to 70 and this is when the bugs are killed). Also, a tankful of hot water will keep hotter longer and enable longer for 2 in the shower.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    5,048
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Not worried about bugs everywhere we got in Europe uses chlorinated water, more concerned about water and gas usage when we are off grid, we find the 60 setting far to hot and a right pain to get the shower mixer to the right temp.

    My main point is why have a 40 deg setting if it is unusable.
     
  18. Chipster

    Chipster Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    East Midlands On Sea
    I
    I'll not bother moaning about ours then!! Noticed ours doesn't maintain 40 deg after first heat. This explains it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    5,048
    Location:
    West Sussex
    Please have a moan at them the more people that do the more chance of getting a fix.
     
Loading...

Share This Page