Travelling with a toddler .... (1 Viewer)

Aussietraveller

Free Member
Jan 11, 2015
Australia
Funster No
MH
Dont own one yet
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi all , my wife and I are planning a 6 month trip around Europe we have a 3 yr old, I am yet to buy a MH. I would love to hear from anybody that travels with toddlers and let me know how they have got by,my main concern is about fitting a child seat in the back as most MH I have seen (pictures on the net)only have lap belts in the back. We are leaving OZ in April and after catching up with family in the UK and buying a MH we will be off on our adventure.. Thank you

tonka

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 2, 2008
Cannock, Staffs
Funster No
MH
A class Burstner 800
Exp
Since 2000
I dont know what van you have been looking at or it's age but most vans have 3 point seatbelts.
Have taken both our grandkids with us around Parts of Europe since they were less than a year old. Never had an issue with fitting a car seat...

Upvote 0
Aug 27, 2014
Shropshire
Funster No
MH
McLouis Tandy 640+
Exp
Since 2014
Most more modern vans will have 3 point seatbelts in the back, but not always on all seats and you do need to double check. Our 7 berth van, a 2006 model, has only 6 "travelling" seats which is not uncommon. We have 2 forward facing seats in the back with 3 point belts, and 2 rearward facing seats with 2 point lap belts only. Unless you're looking at vans older than 10-15 years you should be able to find one with 3 point belts in the back without too much trouble.

One point to note is that the base cushions on motorhome seats are much softer than car seats and can compress more easily. As such, for our youngest who still needs a car seat, we put him on one of the seats with a 3 point belt that is next to the window - because of the cushion base being soft if he went on the seat next to the "corridor" the car seat could roll off the side of the seat when cornering. I'm not the only one who's found this.