Traveling With The Fridge On

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by piketopike, Jun 24, 2015.

  1. piketopike

    piketopike

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shipton Bellinger
    Hi Everybody

    I hope someone can give me some advice. I have recently obtained a Adria Twin 600SP Van Conversion and my wife and I are planning to travel around France in the near future. Can you use the gas to power the fridge whilst driving and parked up whilst we look around town (s) or can you use the battery to run the fridge as it would as on gas e.g.

    Tim
     
  2. PhilandMena

    PhilandMena Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    3,648
    Location:
    Corby, Northants
    You will not be able to run your fridge from you battery alone, it will become flat very quickly. No problem running a fridge on gas providing you have enough and your system is designed to do this and certified as being safe to do so. Many modern motorhomes also run their fridge from the alternator when driving by selecting A.E.S on the fridge (Automatic Energy Selector).
    Safe journeys.
     
  3. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    2,533
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    Depending on the type of fridge it will probably have a 12v option. This is designed to be powered by the alternator only when the engine is running. You choose gas or mains based on your preference or availability when you stop for the night.

    More modern versions have an auto setting that takes care of all that for you. I'm assuming you have a 3 way fridge as you mention gas but compressor fridges run on 12v all the time.
     
  4. irnbru

    irnbru Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5,340
    Likes Received:
    9,763
    Location:
    Glasgow
  5. piketopike

    piketopike

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shipton Bellinger
    Thank you all for your swift replies. My fridge is a Thetford N3097. It has an automatic setting which I now have a better understanding of how it works. I will place it on Automatic and let it decide for itself.
     
  6. BwB

    BwB Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    562
    Location:
    Brandon Suffolk UK
    Keep an eye on it, if using auto. They work fine 99% of the time but ours used to get confused about once a year and we'd lose the contents of the freezer.
     
  7. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    living the dream.
    That happened a lot to us when we had a Thetford fridge. No reason. Just defrosted every few months. Wouldn't work unless you were within 3% level. We have a dometic now and will work on any level.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page