Transporting expensive bikes (cycles) (1 Viewer)

Chris2050

Free Member
Oct 5, 2015
Cambridge, UK
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi there,

My first post, please be gentle! We have set about the exciting process of searching for a motorhome! Besides using it for family holidays (2+2 teenagers), we are keen triathletes and will be using it as well as a race van to transport our 2 cycles to races and training weekends. We also climb so will need to leave the bikes at the van on some days. We can fit a 6m van on the driveway. Just!

Strapping to a bike carrier for either transport or storage is no option. I don't want them scratched or dented or covered by flies or road mess and don't want them on display for theft. The way I see it the bikes either get a spot inside the motorhome, or a spot in a garage.

One option is a van with an extra single side bunk, with cushions removed or even top removed to hold the bikes.

Another option is to buy a motorhome with a garage, but these seem few and far between. The best I've seen is the Dethleffs A5880 which has two bunk beds in the rear, and a decent garage when the lower bunk bed is folded away (which would be fine most of the time).

A bike trailer would be a third option but that seems like a load of extra faff.

How about a box that bolts on to the rear of the motorhome, perhaps as a chassis or tow bar extension, and that acts as an 'external garage'?

Any other ideas, peeps?

Thanks!

funflair

LIFE MEMBER
Dec 11, 2013
Guisborough
Funster No
MH
MORELO palace
Exp
since 2012
Hi Chris 2050

Welcome to fun, I fully understand about not putting bikes on a rack on the back we have a Tandem and two carbon mountain bikes in our garage and would not dream of putting them outside, but our van is a big larger than 6 metres. One option you dont mention above is having a slightly larger motorhome and storing it away from home, 2+2 teenagers could get a bit cosy in a small van.