transfering files

Discussion in 'Computers' started by pappajohn, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    i need to transfer all my documents, photo's and some old programs (if they'll run on the new one) from my old lappy to my new one.

    is it possible to do this via an ethernet cable beteween laptops ?

    if not, then how....without buying disc transfer software.

    i do have a 500gb USB hard drive
     
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,539
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Never tried linking two machines with an Ethernet cable. I've normally transferred files over a conventional Ethernet network in recent years.

    Easy with the 500gb USB hard drive to copy files to it and then from it. I've done that sort of thing from time to time as it was quicker than routing file copies via the network.

    As regards software you will need to install programs onto the new machine. Simple copying won't work as it does for data files.
     
  3. harryoxford2

    harryoxford2 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    255
    Location:
    Bishops Stortford Herts
    Hi John,
    a
    There is a number of ways to do it, presuming you have disc writers on your old machines you can copy the files onto disc and then reinstall.
    b
    if you close an i/d ..ie one of the users on the computer when you do so the computer asks if you want to save all that users files, yes is the answer and all of your files are placed neatly in one folder with sub folders within, again copy via disc or usb stick.
    The big things are pictures we take from modern cameras often 1 2 or 3 megs big. a few hundred pics and you have a gigabite.
    c
    transfering from computer to computer.
    This is dependant on a number of factors and im not going to guess whats what with each computer but the help section will point you in the right direction.
    Myself I always manually copy via usb stick or dvd writer or cd writer and i copy paste the files so all the origional remain on the old computer in case things go pear shaped i can do it all again. Move and paste has only one go to it.
    d
    as far as program transfer you are gonna have to reilstall them in the new one from whatever source you obtained them as the program needs to configure the computer, if you do a straight copy of your programs over they will not be configured correctly to work on the new computer especially if the new one is a different operating format ie vista, xp, whatever.


    I dont know you well enuff to know how skilled you are at computers but if you need help then please ring and ill guide you through.

    If im teaching grandma to suck eggs then accept my appols.

    If you do ring i need to ring back landline to landline so i can burn up my anytime calls package....i love to vurn up my free stuff that costs an initial fortune :)
     
  4. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,248
    Likes Received:
    5,199
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    transfering files

    Normally done by putting in a cake John, whos in the nick? :Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:

    Peter
     
  5. harryoxford2

    harryoxford2 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    255
    Location:
    Bishops Stortford Herts
    John I just sent a private message with my home number if you want guidance.
     
  6. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Hi John

    You can do it "Peer to peer" with a reversal ethernet cable directly between the 2 laptops...or if you have an ethernet switch then plug them both into it and make sure they are both on the same ethernet address scheme/subnet.:thumb:

    Steve.

    Try a bit of software called "Beyond compare" . Trial lasts 30 days I believe...

    Allows direct comparison between files so you know which ones have been copied fully.
     
  7. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    thanks everyone, especially harry for the phone number, i'm doing it slowly using the usb h/d.

    looks like i'll lose a program or two.....lost discs :Sad:
     
  8. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,539
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    What are the programs John? Just in case we have any discs available.
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    i'll have a look next time i turn on the old lappy Graham.

    one definate is 'Paperport' but i cant remember the version.
    came as an included CD package with an old printer about 6 years ago and i use it quite a lot.
    its a document/photo manipulation program.

    but i would have thought if i get into the program files and copy the EXE file to memory stick, then download to this lappy and open/run, it should load ?.....if its compatible of course !
     
  10. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,539
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Don't have Paperport, sorry.

    Just copying a .exe file won't work I'm afraid. Software packages use lots of extra and shared routines (e.g. .dll files) and need to be installed so that all the necessary links and Registry entries are set up.
     
  11. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,783
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Paperport is £49.99 if you have to buy it:
    http://www.nuance.co.uk/imaging/paperport/paperport-standard.asp

    But a lot of printers come with extensive capability built in nowadays. Is it not worth seeing what you can do within the op system or with free software first?

    I'm afraid I'm not very "up" on the best free Win-compatible freebies as I use a Mac 99% of the time. For PDFs though, I always used PDFCreator on the old PC.

    Philip
     

Share This Page