Transfer of habitation Unit onto another chassis (1 Viewer)

Reonvore

Free Member
Aug 29, 2011
Ireland
Funster No
MH
Alcove
Exp
I'm a Newbie
I presently have a Niesmann + bischoff Clou 470D based on a 1984 fiat ducato chassis but I have come across an 1991 Iveco 40-10 which I want to transfer over the habitation unit onto to give me something like this-----

http://www.uhlich-online.de/mobil/iveco/index.htm

And I'm hoping you might be able to help me with advice and links to show how complicated or straight forward this maybe .

Thanks in advance

Reo.

Last edited:

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
your choice, but i wouldn't even contemplate doing a job that big.

so many things will need re-engineering/modifying......height of chassis to top of cab....will it need infill's between over-cab and top of windscreen, length of chassis....will the body be too long/short, wheel base....will the wheels be in the right place, major modification of hab to cab joint.

good luck.

aba

Free Member
Oct 27, 2009
yorkshire
Funster No
MH
coachbuilt
Exp
dec 2009
my dad did this with his old bedford cf based motorhome and transferred it onto a transit.
the main drawback i see with your proposition is going from a front wheel drive chassis to a rear drive chassis as the floor height will be higher.

if the iveco is a panel van then all well and good if its a chassis cab then you may run into problems again with the chassis height.

lots of measuring is required and really you need the iveco sat next to the ducato with the rear wheels in line with each other.
when my dad did his the transit had to be extended at the rear to support the floor and the body chopped off to make a chassis cab.
all told it took about 2 weeks from acquiring the transit van to having the finished motorhome.
he spoke to the converters about where the body fixings were and they even offered to swap the body over for about £2000.