Toyota Hiace 2.8 Upgrade to 3LTR ? (1 Viewer)

Dee123

Free Member
Jan 24, 2011
Ipswich
Funster No
MH
Toyota AM Craft
Exp
I,m a newbie
I'm a newbie,so don't pick on me :).....I'm picking up my first campervan this week.An AM Craft Toyota Hiace conversion.Its got a 2.8 engine.Which should be fine,but just say I wanted a 3 ltr turbo engine put in at a later stage.Is that possible ? and what would that cost me ?....thanks ...and hello :)

OP
OP
D

Dee123

Free Member
Jan 24, 2011
Ipswich
Funster No
MH
Toyota AM Craft
Exp
I,m a newbie
I should add,the vehicle is year 1998 japan import

wivvy's dad

Free Member
Jun 22, 2010
Funster No
MH
Transit LWB Hi-Top PVC
Exp
On and Off since '98
I think we probably need a bit more detail.

Petrol? Diesel? Toyota engine or Porsche....?

The pissibolities are endless............................:winky:

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

OP
OP
D

Dee123

Free Member
Jan 24, 2011
Ipswich
Funster No
MH
Toyota AM Craft
Exp
I,m a newbie
sorry,...its a diesel, 2.8 toyota engine "aspirated" whatever that means...just wondered if it is possible to change to a 3ltr turbo diesel.....at a later stage,if it were required

wivvy's dad

Free Member
Jun 22, 2010
Funster No
MH
Transit LWB Hi-Top PVC
Exp
On and Off since '98
sorry,...its a diesel, 2.8 toyota engine "aspirated" whatever that means...just wondered if it is possible to change to a 3ltr turbo diesel.....at a later stage,if it were required

"Normally aspirated" means non-turbocharged.

Do you know that a 3ltr turbo engine will fit in the space available? Or are you wishing it will? Turbo engines normally need a lot more in the way of room for the extra mechanical bits-n-pieces, and for the associated electronics. Then there's the question of will it fit the gearbox etc etc.

I don't know much about these, but a good friend had a LiteAce, and they were a bu&&er to work on, with the engine in between the front seats.