tow bar wiring on 2008 ducato x250

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by NickF, Sep 5, 2009.

  1. NickF

    NickF Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Nr Caernarfon North Wales
    Assuming i've now got my new towbar for our ace firenze ( from my other thread)

    Does anyone know about the wiring up of it - is there anything special to note as the vehcile is a 2008 X250 with possible can bus.

    what makes me wonder is that I see the reply from Simon at swift group mentions a wiring loom and control box on my previous thread, so i guess i can't just fit the wiring in the good old traditional way by splicing in to the exisitng rear lights like we use to and how i've done it many times in the past.

    Anyone know about this for sure before i have to pay around £200 + for the wiring loom and controller from swift?

    Thanks everyone for the replys on my enquiries about the towbar.

    Nick.
    www.autogastanks.co.uk
     
  2. N&K

    N&K

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Berkshire
  3. davejen

    davejen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    688
    Location:
    Kirkpatrick Fleming Dumfries
    If it is can-bus I think the only option is the correct kit, unfortunately the "norm" nowadays-it's called progress!, by the way can you give me an idea of the cost of a 60 ltr gas tank as mine is 10years old and looking a bit tatty ie rusty, or can it be wire brushed (carefully) and repainted? thanks, Dave:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2009
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,892
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    no need to buy from Swift as they have nothing to do with the existing wiring except utilise whats already there and only sell on kits they bought in.

    you may even find a specific towbar wiring socket to just plug the new loom into within the canbus control system.

    you will need a specific wiring kit though.
     
  5. NickF

    NickF Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Nr Caernarfon North Wales
    thanks for the prompt replies.

    I'll call the towequip people tomorrow to see what they say and i'll report back with the findings.

    Davejen, is that a vapour tank your asking about or one to run the engine? we have both in stock and being a member on here you get the discount from us but drop me your number or call me in the office this next week ( mornings if possible) - 01286 882097 and i'll chat it over with you.

    By the way don 't go off the pricelist ont he autogastanks.co.uk website, thats out of date now, ALL the new prices are much lower, especially the 4 hole upright cylinders (bottles)

    thanks for all the replies,

    Nick.
     
  6. SJM

    SJM Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    If its anything like my 07 x250 work van, splicing into the wiring loom works for the indicators, but you will get a warning light on the dash the first time you press the brake pedal which will stay on until you unplug the trailer, and the side lights won't work at all on the van or trailer. It had me scratching my head, checking fuses etc, finally got fed up, unplugged the trailer and all the lights came back on on the van !!

    So the short answer is yes, you will need some kind of loom other thanjust splicing in.

    Stu
     
  7. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    5,569
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Splicing into a canbus system without the correct harness :Eeek:
    Who's alucky boy then
    its a wonder you didnt have a meltdown:cry:

    Please pick 6 numbers 1-49 Ta!:RollEyes:
    Geo
     
Loading...

Share This Page