total novice gonna try a fifth wheel (1 Viewer)

tutter

Free Member
Feb 2, 2011
cardiff
Funster No
MH
5th wheel
Exp
Hi all, just paid my tenner as this forum seems to offer more than most - never camped seriously but it seems camping has changed alot since i was a child. we are gonna take the plunge ( 2 adults 3 young kids )and have ordered a dodge ram ( uprated to 1 tonne payload ) and going to look and hopefully purchase a fifth wheel at the show in nec this month. The people who we have spoken to whilst at festivals in campers / caravans and rvs all seem pretty nice. any hints tips about joining clubs for discounts, travel tips, good and bad dealers etc would be be gratefully received. also any fifth wheelers with experience to offer would be superb, Have saved for ages to get this set up and cant really afford for it to go wrong so fingers crossed will get it right first time. Thanks in advance andrew ( also I am fully aware of fuel comsumption of yank truck and it is cool with me- one of the few things that are not stressing me about outlay !!:whatthe: )

ehuplad

Free Member
Feb 9, 2009
North Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Hobby 600
Exp
Hello Tutter,

Welcome to Fun, there are a few 5er owners here :thumb::thumb:

What type, length etc 5er you looking at?

There are a few dealers but not sure many will be at the NEC, Last time i went there where only 2 there.

Are you looking at european width or American.

Last edited:

chatter

Free Member
Aug 3, 2009
cheshire
Funster No
MH
5th wheel
Exp
10+
Hi and welcome,
make sure who ever you buy your van from has time to point out driving points and how to reverse it and hopefully takes you out to do manuvres so you get the basic know how and you feel comfortable with it as there is no pushing these units onto a pitch. We have a uk spec unit with an isuzu pickup

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

DESCO

Free Member
Mar 11, 2009
London
Funster No
MH
low profile
Exp
18 years +12 years tugging
Hi tutter