Too large for a first motorhome?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Jezinio, Jul 14, 2013.

1. Jezinio

Jezinio Read Only Funster

Hi

We have just started looking around motorhomes with a view to buying in a few months' time.

The one that has really taken our fancy so far in terms of general finish and lay-out os the Swift Bolero. The one we saw was a 10 plate.

However, I'm wondering if this van would be too large for a first timer? Although I am a confident driver I have not driven anything this long before.

I would really appreciate members' guidance / advice on tis issue.

2. jb0371

jb0371 Read Only Funster

Is the layout right, if so then go for it otherwise you are going to spend thousands on one thats not quite right. After about 10 min of driving your going to realise it was the wrong choice.

Ask for a test drive.

• Like Like x 1
  3. 4matt

4matt Read Only Funster

Ever towed a caravan? If you have then you will manage the MH no trouble. The caravan Club offer helpful driving instruction for a few quid. Or you could hire a van before you buy and see how you feel. The thing is If you think this van suits you then go for it. We spent six or seven months looking before we finally found one the right size and layout. We had one compromise with our chosen van and that was a slightly smaller wash room than we wanted but everything else was perfect for us.

• Like Like x 1
  4. 4matt

4matt Read Only Funster

Oh and by the way welcome to the forum:thumb:

5. Shuggy68

Shuggy68

driving a mh and pulling a caravan are to different ways of driving ask for a test drive remember this saying (THE SLOWER U GO THE LESS DAMAGE U DO)once t get a test drive ull know if its for u then pick your lay-out:thumb:

6. pappajohn

pappajohn Funster Life Member

size may seem daunting at first but if you remember a few things it's soon overcome.

1....you are longer than usual so swing wider on junctions...especially left hand turns