TomTom, deal or no deal?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by darklord, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. darklord

    darklord Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    essex
    I recently added "traffic" to my TT930, what a sodding palaver. You have to have a compatible phone, then loads of problems occured. After abpout three emails, iwas sent an a4 page of instructions to reformat the phone, then the TT then do a reset, then a soft reset, blh blah blah. Anyway, finally got it all done, finally got it working, but only after i,d had to buy it again!"!
    TT are currently sorting arefund, and are very apologetic and I can't fault the customer service, however, I thought it may be time to get a newer model to fit in the MH, so I mentioned a trade in.
    TT dont handle the trade ins themselves, its done by a thrid party, i told them I had a fully updated TT930, with all of europe on it, north america, traffic, and UK and EU speed cameras,.......I was offered £80:Eeek:, the chappie was told to go forth and multiply!
    I can understan TT doing part exes, it takes units off the secondhand market, but I think they need to be offereing a bit more than that, I value the unit at £150, I know you can buy cheaper, different makes etc, but IMHO that is what this is what i value this unit at, so I will keep it for another coupe of years.
    OH, by the way, there is another scheme in place, where TT sell you a unit, you then send them your old unit (any maker) and they refund an amount agreed prior............google it if you decide to do this, apparently there are quite a few dissatisfied customers.

    Question 1, has nobody managed to fit a satnav into the flip up map board on a ducato yet?

    Question 2 has the chap who spotted some veru good looking units on ebay, and bought one, got a product review yet?
     
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,398
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Any good? The mount is fixed to a rigid plastic clipboard (about a quid from Asda but any similar will do) and that is clipped into the dash clip.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 5
  3. beachcaster

    beachcaster Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    3,171
    Location:
    east sussex
    I use a square metal coaster....put 4 felt pads underneath it so it doesnt mark the plastic

    stick tommy on top using the normal clamp and use the spring clip to keep it in position.

    Just a few seconds to put it on/off and very secure

    barry:Smile:
     
  4. Craig Rogers

    Craig Rogers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    411
    Location:
    Midlands, UK (Welsh!)
    For TomTom Traffic, if you have a compatible TomTom device, don't bother the live service (mobile phone connection), just get one of these;

    http://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/products/accessories/most-popular/traffic-receiver-9UUC.002.00.2/

    It's the newer TMC receiver, so once bought, the traffic updates are free. I've been using one for a few months now and is a big improvement over the original one which didn't work very well. I've never failed (so far) to get a signal and receive the traffic updates.
     
  5. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,702
    Likes Received:
    3,207
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Absolutely agree with above post. I use the free TMC service, it works everywhere though I have been told it can be a bit problematical near borders as it sometimes picks up a stronger signal from a neighbouring country rather than the one you are in. :thumb:
     
  6. Craig Rogers

    Craig Rogers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    411
    Location:
    Midlands, UK (Welsh!)
    Of course, didn't think about that, however, if you know the frequency of the station carrying the TMC data (it's Classic FM in the UK) then you can manually tune the device in.
     
  7. WhiteCheyenneMan

    WhiteCheyenneMan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Kent
    Presumably this doesn't re-route you in the same way as HD Traffic?
    Much cheaper than an annual subscription though!
     
  8. Craig Rogers

    Craig Rogers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    411
    Location:
    Midlands, UK (Welsh!)
    Yep, works the same way, just get's the data via a different means.

    The data is different, however, I'd probably be more convinced on the TMC data rather than TomTom's own which relies on Live subscribers. Don't fancy the idea of TomTom HD tracking me.
     
  9. SilverF1

    SilverF1 Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    You also need to read the compatibility list on the link. Not all TT models are suitable to use with the receiver. A lot are, though.
     
Loading...

Share This Page