Three Sim Throttling Speeds In France

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by laser101uk, Jul 17, 2015.

  1. laser101uk

    laser101uk Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    I was using the three broadband sim with feel at home in France a few weeks ago and thought I would share my experience of it.

    Firstly it worked , and it worked fine for emails, web pages etc and was averaging speeds of between 1 - 3 mbps. However, when I tried to stream the radio or watch netflix it was dead in the water, taking ages to stream and then constantly buffering. I do like to use the ipad for radio 2/4 sometimes as I don't have a fixed satellite and cannot always use my portable in aires etc. I don't really use the sim for netflix but for the purposes of testing I thought with 3 mbps I should be easily getting a stream.

    The solution was to use the vpn. The moment I had the vpn up the radio worked instantly, as did netflix.

    It seems to me they are throttling for some reason as for all other uses the speeds were fine. I do object to this as I paid £25 for 7 gigs, which I believe are then mine to use as I see fit. Anyway I found the work around for now.

    for info, I used the sim in Le Crotoy, Alencon, Saumur, La Rochelle, Il de Re, la mailleraye sur seine and Boulogne sur mer. the only dead spot was the aire at Saumur, which is a few mile from town.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  2. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,263
    Likes Received:
    3,414
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    My experience also but I never thought of using the VPN as not having streaming wasn't much of a problem but will use that method in the future.

    I don't know how familiar you are with the 'my broadband' log on page but a manual search of available networks is possible and usually comes up with one of the available networks.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    Which particular vpn do you use?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. laser101uk

    laser101uk Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    • Like Like x 3
  5. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,435
    Likes Received:
    11,116
    Location:
    Kettering
    It doesn't matter which network you are on. When you are roaming you connect to whichever local network your service provider have an agreement with for that country. It's down to that local provider to prioritise their available bandwidth. Obviously their own direct customers take priority. Next in line will be any local client networks they may have. Roaming customers get what's left.

    Using the UK networks as an example: There are only really 4 genuine network operators here: O2, Vodafone, EE and Three.
    The others buy access and bandwidth from these 4, for example BT Mobile and Virgin are EE client networks. Sainsburys and Tesco use O2. So for EE their own customers come first, then their client networks, then anyone who roams onto EE.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  6. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,263
    Likes Received:
    3,414
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    I have recently used a three payg sim in France and Spain. I have the mifi set to manual search for networks and in France could connect to Orange, Bytel and one whose name was numerical, something like 40815. It would quite often pick up SFR but would not connect but would never pick up a signal from Bougyes for some reason.

    No matter which network I was connected to the results were the same, a speed test would show speeds of 3 to 5 mbs, normally more than adequate for streaming, but streaming was never possible. My conclusion was that somehow someone was restricting the bandwidth for streaming, and possibly other, services.

    I dare say that if I could be bothered looking that somewhere in the three 'feel at home' T&C's this will be mentioned.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,426
    Likes Received:
    25,080
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Like it ! We struggled with a 3 SIM this year, I just assumed it was just bad connections when trying to watch the MotoGP racing. Now I know the reason.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    6,445
    Location:
    south shields
    Hi
    Hi found this an interesting thread but not that computer savy. could someone explain what a vpn is in layman's terms and how it is able to overcome the problems with speed/bandwidths if that's the right term..
    Ta Andy.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,263
    Likes Received:
    3,414
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    Not sure of the correct technical terms are but a VPN basically deceives the network into thinking you are somewhere else by using a proxy VPN, in most cases for UK purposes it gives the provider information that you are in the UK when you are not.

    I use Google Chrome as a browser and there is a free extension called zenmate that does this.

    That is very much a layman's guide, no doubt that someone with more knowledge will explain properly soon.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    6,445
    Location:
    south shields
    Thanks @matamoros ..
    So you don't need to pay to set one up??
    I looked at the link provided by @laser101uk ..don't fully understand everything but it does appear to cost to set one up from that link...
    Thanks again Andy. .
     
  11. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,426
    Likes Received:
    25,080
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I'll add a bit... Virtual Private Network.

    If I want to watch Eurosport UK that I pay £4 a month for, from Europe mainland, it comes back "not available" because I buy UK rights.

    Now if I go to the link above and buy a VPN a computer in the UK, that becomes my computer. I call up this computer from France and from it's UK computer it calls Eurosport who think I'm in the UK all is OK.

    So basically just a relay station.

    Also very popular with dodgy people hiding their tracks !!
     
    • Like Like x 3
  12. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    6,445
    Location:
    south shields
    Thanks Brian... I'll keep reading...
     
  13. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,263
    Likes Received:
    3,414
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    The zenmate one for Chrome is free but a lot of others charge. I have noticed that when using the zenmate extension the speed does seem to drop sometimes but I am using an old laptop and I think it is getting clogged up with stuff and the laptop itself may be the cause of this.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Abacist

    Abacist Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    1,233
    Location:
    Devon
    But presumably you still need either a WiFi connection or a mobile data connection to start with and then you login to your VPN?
     
  15. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,263
    Likes Received:
    3,414
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    Yes you still need a wifi or mobile connection to the internet and then you can choose to enable the VPN in the settings/extensions option on the browser.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    Hi i loaded 3GB for £15 on three mifi used it for roughly 5 hours in 5 days here in France on 3 devices amongst us and its run out already ! not used data eaters just e- mail and forums like this no videos, films, online games or other data eaters, is that reasonable ? I just put another 3GB on i just hope it lasts a bit longer this time. I make sure devices are disconnected, wifi off and mifi off etc when finished . Any ideas please ?
     
  17. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,527
    Likes Received:
    2,530
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    If you are using phones or tablets they are more than likely burning through data sound syncs and updates without you realising. My phone uses 10gig a month which is probably the extreme end of the scale but shows how much data you can get through.. that's just mobile data by the way, not WiFi when I'm at home or in the office.

    Depending on the device you may be able to control some of this data use but one of the biggest killers is Facebook so search about and see how you can turn off things like automatic video playing etc.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,478
    Likes Received:
    5,520
    Location:
    Near Mold North Wales
    If using a pc ensure Windows automatic updates is off. If using a Tablet ensure software updates is off, Apps updates (apps store) are off. If using a Samsung Galaxy also ensure updates are off for Samsung apps (this is a different setting to non-Samsung apps). If you use dropbox expect high network usage as it attempts to sync all your devices.
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  19. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    On the mifi broadband dongle we use a laptop which ive got me authorizing updates etc set up so i can stop them, there`s a hudl which ive tried to find and stop updates etc but hope i`ve not missed any settings on it i want stopped ? same with i pad and i phone i`ve shut all bits that look iffy but cant find stop all updates on them ?
     
  20. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,478
    Likes Received:
    5,520
    Location:
    Near Mold North Wales
    Hopefully someone with more knowledge than I on these devices will come along and provide some more information/hints.
     
Loading...

Share This Page