Three Network Feel at Home

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Flamenca, Oct 20, 2015.

  1. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    It seems that 3 are tightening the net on Feel at Home use. I have a 3 data SIM in my mifi and have received the following text message:

    "If you use it for 2 complete months in a rolling 12 month period we will turn off your international roaming services. As you have already roamed exclusively in our FAH for at least 1 month in the last 12 we will switch off roaming if you roam exclusively in a FAH destination for a further month. See http://three.co.uk/FAH use"

    The word "exclusively" seems to be key. Maybe some of use need to post the SIM back to a friend in the UK every few weeks for them to use for a day or two and return the SIM to avoid being cut off? :frowny:

    Has anyone else received this text from 3 or been cut off whilst abroad?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. mickyc

    mickyc Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    2,013
    Location:
    Spain/Portugal
    Got back last week from a 3 month trip in FAH destinations.

    I'm on PAYG on a 3 mifi and used up my included data and topped up twice in the last month (online)

    I didn't receive any messages from 3 but will check again tomorrow (the mifi has been switched off in the van since we got back)

    I will probably get a cpl of extra payg data sims for our next trip in Jan, just in case.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. jumar

    jumar Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    1,094
    Location:
    Spain/Notts
    I have 4 Three Data Sims, I switch them around, only one of these is actually registered to me, just finished a four month trip using Three, or was it a 3 month trip using Four? Anyway the bottom line must be, Its a fantastic system that I would have expected to carry some conditions at sometime, still way ahead of the rest, currently.
    In my opinion.
     
    • Like Like x 8
  4. jollyrodger

    jollyrodger Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    6,732
    Location:
    Plymouth
    I have been using in phone PAYG .mifi data sim.tablet data sim no problems the usual roaming charge msg when the go on but apart from phone ,never on constantly . out had the msg you described ...yet but cheers for the info(y)
     
  5. Dave and Ginny

    Dave and Ginny Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Nottingham
    I used my PAYG sim on my phone for three months earlier this year with no problems or messages, we have just got a second sim registered in Ginny's name so I can top it up whilst we're away and have a spare. Quite agree with @jumar that '3' are way ahead of the competition.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Likes Received:
    6,034
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Something was mentioned yesterday in another thread re Three roaming changes......

    Something in the wind for sure...maybe the way round is to have two SIM..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    Yes, probably having more than one SIM is the solution. I have never topped up a PAYG data SIM but always purchased new ones. It is the first time I have received the text message and it is a 12 month 12GB SIM I purchased just 2 to 3 months ago. I used 5GB in the first month (in France). Probably have to re-consider my strategy and revert to 1 and 3 month SIM's.

    I agree with @jumar that 3 is still the best deal for roaming in France and Spain.
     
  8. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Likes Received:
    6,034
    Location:
    Sarth London
    and Italy/Switzerland :)

    we are both on 3 contract phone deals and never has a problem but most we go away for is a 4 - 6 weeks
     
  9. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    I did not manage to use my 3 contract phone SIM in France. It rarely found a Network even though the mifi was fine. :crying1:
     
  10. clanjones

    clanjones Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    I have been investigating this as well. The current 3 mobile T&Cs state the 2 month rule. That put us off 3 for the time being but I like the idea of 2 SIMSs! From a phoning perspective Carphone Warehouse have set up the iD network bizarrely using the 3 network and have an option for free phone roaming in Europe and has better country coverage - it includes Germany and there are no time restrictions - but remember this is only for phoning the UK. Inter Europe call are not included.

    The problem at the moment with iD is that their data plan doesn't include European roaming but I have been told that there are changes in the pipeline so am holding off just now but for UK monthly SIM only deals they are very competitive and we will be moving to them in the next week or so.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Likes Received:
    6,034
    Location:
    Sarth London
    with 3 you only get free calls home when roaming as well? not from country to country.. so if your in France and call a campsite in Spain you will be charged..
     
  12. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    I have a 3 SIM only contract which is low cost but let me down this year whilst abroad. I think it was more a problem with my 'phone so will look for a new Android dual SIM.
     
  13. clanjones

    clanjones Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Hi Flamenca,

    My phone investigations covered phones as well! These are not the very expensive ones (too tight for that) and narrowed it down to the Samsung J5 and Motorola 3rd Gen both which you can get as dual SIM.

    http://www.expeditelectronics.com/s...nlocked.html?gclid=CIPG_Ium08gCFQVuGwodIPgNvA

    We went with the Moto as it is waterproof, well rainproof and has Gorilla glass as we cycle a lot. Both have a 13 meg camera which we wanted. If you go for the Moto you would be well advised to go for the 16Gig option. Be careful on buying online as the Moto does come I think with single and dual SIM. I can't check ours for you but will when I get home from work I bought it off Amazon
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Langtoftlad

    Langtoftlad Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    3,960
    Location:
    Langtoft, South Lincs
    I'm not surprised they're tightening the "loophole", as presumably extended overseas data use for motorhomers wasn't what they envisioned - more convenience for customers on a package holiday for a fortnight or business folk on a trip for a couple of nights.
     
  15. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Likes Received:
    6,034
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Probably right.....but if you buy an amount of data from them aren't you allowed to use it...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Brisey

    Brisey Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    7,065
    Location:
    Tropical Bar,Benidorm.
    We have a yearly Data Only contract with the 3 network, the Sim card is in our MiFi. The data allowance is 10 gig a month. We were told that Feel At Home is included in the contract. It has worked really well for us in the U.K.
    Are we likely to encounter any problems using it in Spain.
    Brisey.
     
  17. clanjones

    clanjones Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    It would seem that if you were close to the 2 months the answer, in the shop anyway, was after 2 months no. I am not clear if you are prevented or then get charged standard European data rates. We back peddled very quickly when this restriction was highlighted to us as we are planning to be away for longer than 2 months.
     
  18. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Likes Received:
    6,034
    Location:
    Sarth London
    10 gig is a lot of data..do you ever use it... if yes I guess you must be streaming stuff? this 2 month thing has only come up in last few days. if your away longer maybe a trip to indoor market and another Sim for a month then revert to 3 may work...dont know to be honest

    often find if you call companies (particularly UK government departments:() you get different answers from front of house muppet's:)
     
  19. clanjones

    clanjones Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    • Like Like x 1
  20. clanjones

    clanjones Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    DOH - and go to the usage section!
     
Loading...

Share This Page