Three Mobile Mobile Broadband with Feel at Home

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by mustaphapint, Jan 25, 2016.

  1. mustaphapint

    mustaphapint Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Worcestershire and Brittany
    Does anyone else use this? I have one of their MIFI units with a data only allowance. I'm now in France and it will connect to a local network but there is nothing to say I am using a "feel at home" network. Just a text message to tell me the normal charges for roaming.
    When I had a 3 mobile phone a couple of years ago we used to receive a text message to confirm we were in a feel at home location.
    I'd like to be absolutely sure I am not going to be charged if I start surfing.
    I've emailed 3 support but I don't know how long it will take for them to respond
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    I do not receive text messages from 3 telling me I am using 'feel at home'.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,465
    Likes Received:
    25,158
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I have 3G pre-paid but it keeps saying "additional charges apply" so as puzzled as you, however once it runs out that's it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    UK
    Used a data sim in ipad last year, don't remember receiving anything from 3 but no extra charges. Very limited though, obviously being throttled in some way by local provider. Only good for browsing and email.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. jonegood

    jonegood Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    805
    Location:
    Shrewsbury (sometimes)
    same here, lots of messages but no extra charges.

    the newer mifis that come with them are also unlocked, Im currently using ours with Maroc Telecom sim (waiting to get the van washed)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. sdc77

    sdc77 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,487
    Likes Received:
    2,898
    Location:
    East london
    Use 3 regularly in France .. works well.
    Tried using it in belgium once as I'm a ding at and didn't realise it didn't work there.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Tweedie

    Tweedie Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Northants
    Yes would be good to know as we have a mifi and use a 3 pre loaded data sim for mobile broadband. Has always worked well in the UK but was wondering if it would use 'feel at home' when we go to France.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. alan

    alan Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    466
    Location:
    skegness / spain
    I've been using 3 with Mifi and phone for 3 months on my uk contract with no extra charge.
    Mifi is slow but phone on 3G is as good as uk
    Alan
    Forgot to say in Beni
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. mustaphapint

    mustaphapint Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Worcestershire and Brittany
    Do you have roaming switched on or off please?
     
  10. TheCaller

    TheCaller Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    2,158
    Location:
    Lincs
    I use three mobile broadband PAYG. I have roaming turned on for use abroad, whether in 'Feel at home' locations or not.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. South_Wales_Lady

    South_Wales_Lady Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    South Wales
    You've got to buy an add-on first and apply it to your account. Their site is not particularly clear on this.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Daveg

    Daveg Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    Perthshire
    I have a three Sim in my iphone. The option to use it as a wifi hotspot is disabled in feel at home destinations. Otherwise it is exactly as it is in the UK. Used it in France last spring and am using it in Spain now. Data roaming is always on, with no extra charges.

    Our Three mifi is pretty good as well. No worse than at home. Mind you that's not saying much.

    Dave
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. alan

    alan Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    466
    Location:
    skegness / spain
    Yes I have data roaming turned on
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    11,130
    Location:
    Kettering
    You don't get confirmation messages.

    When you're in a "Feel at Home" country you don't pay roaming charges. If you use it in a country that isn't covered you do.

    It's down to you to make sure that the country you're in is covered. I've never had a problem.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    993
    Location:
    Uk
    But if you use 'add-ons' they only last a month, so if you don't use your phone much it would be more cost effective just to pay the higher rate.
    Just my thoughts, as I'm on tesco pay as you go.
    My wife is on 3 pay as you go and keeps getting messages from 3 giving rate advice because she hasn't put 'add-ons ' on.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. mustaphapint

    mustaphapint Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    1,045
    Location:
    Worcestershire and Brittany
    I took out a monthly contract for 20Gb per month. Maybe I'm paranoid but I don't fancy getting a bill for several hundred pounds because I was connected to one of the networks they don't have an agreement with.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. South_Wales_Lady

    South_Wales_Lady Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    South Wales
    Yes, I agree. I've used it a few times and always make sure I use the data so I get my full money's worth! But if you're a very light user it may not be worth it.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  18. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,582
    Likes Received:
    11,571
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    You'll be quite safe in France, any French network it connects to will be charged at UK rates.

    The only problem is if you are near a border with a none F@H country and it logs onto a network on the "other side". This can happen for example in Spain if it connects to a Portuguese network.

    However, you won't get a huge bill as by law these days they have to limit your expenditure unless of course you manually override it.

    But you should be able to log on to your account and see what charges are being made.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  19. bonniechris

    bonniechris Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    somerset
    we have a 3 data only sim payg which for us worked everywhere we went in spain and most places in france but it will only connect with phone companies that it has agreement with so there are dead spots i.e. central britany which only has Orange fr. no agreed company no service for data only sims. hope this helps
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  20. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    2,202
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    It`s Really past time the "providers" got their act together, with many of them now on the same towers, it would not take a vast technical leap to cross feed on each others networks?.

    I suppose it`s the old story, "Profit" come before "Service". IF you did not have to worry about different charges in different places, More people would use the network(s), and IMHO the volume of calls would increase, as would revenue?.

    I guess that is TOO simple for the Corporate mind set.

    Pete
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Share This Page